the crickets are chirping

2002-09-11

I don't have anything to say about today's anniversary. As I said earlier today to someone else, it feels like the attacks one year ago happened only yesterday--it doesn't feel like any time has passed, even though a lot has happened this year. I can't look back to something that feels like yesterday; it's too soon for me. And....that's about all I can say about it..

One thing not related that I hope doesn't seem too frivolous to talk about today: Francisco told me he heard on NPR yesterday that homicides have declined in Los Angeles recently, and the police have figured out why. It used to be popular with gangs to hold their guns sideways when doing drive-by or other gang shootings, but now the popular, "cool" thing is to hold the gun completely upside down. Basically the gangs haven't stopped shooting at each other, but because they're holding their guns upside down, they're not Hitting each other. People, I'm sorry, but I just think that's beautiful, really. It's one of those things that is so fitting I can almost reach Nirvana just thinking about it.

Take care of yourselves and the people you love,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify