Hold me closer, Tony Danza

2001-12-03

You know how sometimes you see a big bird, like a hawk or eagle, flying around getting harassed by little birds? Like they dive-bomb the big bird and peck at it and stuff? Well, until just a few minutes ago, my whole day consisted of getting pecked by little birds. Except in my scenario the little birds were nit-picky things that kept coming up and demanding attention. It's better now.

Is it just me or did this weekend pass with lightning speed? I feel like it went by so fast I almost missed it. Friday night Francisco and I were Boyless, as planned. I got home and Francisco had made a couple of beautiful cocktails--I can't remember the name but they were green and red. The green was Midori and the red was grenadine (the grenadine sank to the bottom of the glass). There was pineapple juice in them and probably vodka also. We drank these cocktails and headed out to have dinner. We decided to go to a place called, unfortunately, Bread and Kabob. I say 'unfortunately' because the name does not exactly speak of yumminess, but I really like the food there. I'm not sure what kind of food it is; it's almost like a cross between Greek/Mediterranean and Indian. I got the combo which included a few fantastic meatballs in a tomato-based sauce, some really good spicy spinach, and some lentils. It is all served over rice, with a pita, and I am really making myself hungry right now.

After dinner we went to the movie theater and the movie we had intended to see did not actually begin playing there until Saturday. Meanwhile the other movies at this theater had started and would not show again for a couple of hours. We were stuck in the hell of movie limbo. Rather than wait around and see a 9:00 showing, we decided to get lattes and rent a good film. We ended up with Memento, and if you have not seen this film, you Must. People are all the time saying things are a "must-see", but they are liars most of the time. Memento is a major must-see; I am not kidding. Rent it, I beg you.

Friday night before we started watching Memento, I put on my pajamas and a pair of slippers Francisco's mom gave me. She gave him a pair too, but he hates the slippers and threw his pair away. They are knit slippers, and they are fairly ugly, and I delight in wearing them because of Francisco's hatred of them. Friday during the day I had found a pattern for them on the web and I printed it out, so now a Xmas gift project is to make a pair of those slippers for Francisco's mom. This is because when she gave us the slippers she said how she has always really liked them and always buys them when she sees them for sale. I started a sample slipper, made to fit my foot, on Friday night after the movie, and I finished it on Saturday. It is way too big for me, somehow. Francisco was wearing it around the house last night--just the one slipper--to vex me. I made a much smaller slipper yesterday for Francisco's mom (she wears a 6 � shoe) and it was too small-it was even tight on Boy. That made me almost abandon the Great Slipper Project altogether, but I am forging ahead. This morning Francisco rescued the tiny slipper from the garbage and put it next to the big slipper on his side of the bed, again just to vex me. The slippers look pretty funny together, if you want to know.

And as long as I'm talking crafty things (it's okay; Xmas will be over soon, and then the craft fever will abate), I might as well tell you that I am going to make a baby blanket for my little niece, and that I yarn shopped on Sunday. I went to Cozy because they have beautiful yarn, but the only yarn I could find that was suitable for the project AND washable was $9.75 per skein, and I needed 5 skeins. Um, I don't think so. I will use bulky washable chenille from Walmart. It isn't "quality" yarn, but I'm not sure a baby blanket, which will probably see both vomit and diaper leakage, really necessitates quality yarn.

During my same Sunday shopping, I went by JoAnn Fabrics and got a couple small things. I got in the huge line to check out, and when I was next in line I was behind a young (probably 19 or 20) woman who was carrying 3 bags of polyfil and a wire wreath form thingy. She hadn't been able to find prices on her items so she wanted to find out how much they were. The polyfil was, I think, 89 cents and the wreath thing was $1.50. I didn't look on purpose but I saw her open her wallet and she only had like $2, so she just bought one of the polyfils. Maybe it was the spirit of Christmas or maybe deep down inside I am actually a nice person, but I was seized with the desire to buy the remaining items for her. My problem was, I couldn't think of a way to do it without embarrassing her, especially since there was such a long line. I thought about just buying them after she left and then running after her with the items, but she was walking fast and went into the parking lot instead of toward other stores, so I decided against it. I figured she would probably be long gone by the time I got out to the lot, and then I would be stuck with stuff I don't want. I would really have liked to get her that stuff, though, because I know what it's like to have only $2 to spend. I've been there and I spent enough years there to know that it is a really wearing place to be.

This is the last craft-related thing I'm going to say today, but a couple people have expressed interest in making marble magnets of their own, and this site gives full instructions and pictures of the process and finished product. They really are easy to make, as long as you use the right glue (silicon gel-I used the silicon adhesive you can caulk bathtubs with; clear, of course). And anyone who is interested in other crafty things, swing on by here for other good gift ideas and fun/helpful discussion forums.

I have to jet now--I need to go to the dry cleaner on my way home to take the last remaining items from Mt. SmokeDamage (from the closet fire of a few months ago). These are things we didn't need cleaned at the time (Winter clothes and it was summer), but now we do. I can hardly wait to get the bill.

Thanks for listening, and I really am going to try and tone down the Amish-y craft themes I seem to have going lately. I believe in a prior entry (probably several months ago), I gave warning that every now and again I am compelled to be crafty--it is a force beyond my control. It'll burn itself out sooner or later, but in any case, I will not bore you with it further. Unless I have nothing else to talk about or just really feel like boring you with it.

Lovelove,

E

PS This morning when I woke up the first conscious thought that came into my head was, "Hold me closer, Tony Danza" (Elton John's Tiny Dancer song, but with those words, a la Phoebe on a Friends episode from a long time ago). It made me weak. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify