Cooter, where are you?

2002-03-28

So, I made myself a new banner (renewed my goldenness so I get the banners again), and I kind of like it and kind of not, but Andrew said I could change banners if I wanted to make a different one. I've been trying to find pictures of Cooter from the Dukes of Hazzard, and they are scarce. I don't suppose you've seen any? I'm kicking myself for sending the banner to Andrew this morning when I had such a boring entry up, because already I've had a number of new visitors and they didn't let the door hit them on the ass on their way out. But you know, I'm glad my life isn't always exciting enough to generate a fantastic entry, because I don't think I'd have the energy to deal with constant excitement.

Moving on�

GIGANTIC MELON!

This is one of the recent Google searches that brought someone to my diary. I can't recollect when I spoke about large melons--let alone Gigantic ones--but apparently I did at one time. I've been periodically saying "Gigantic Melon!" to myself, because I find it quite satisfying to say. Try it! It might be a good band name. I'm a sucker for satisfying words or phrases. A few weeks ago I bought 'Behold' furniture polish, just so I could say "BEHOLD!" to Francisco while brandishing the can. It's probably not great furniture polish, but who cares?

Speaking of Francisco, he's home now and I'm very happy. We watched West Wing last night and drank a little beer and it was a nice night. Did you see West Wing? It was so good. I love the C.J. character; she deflects questions from the press as deftly as Wonder Woman deflecting bullets from her magical golden bracelets. And I loved when C.J. told Josh she was going to "stick a motherboard so far up your ass!" if he didn't quit visiting his fansite. Anyway, Francisco and I walked at lunch today, and I always love that. We do our best daydreaming and brainstorming when we walk. On this particular walk we decided to scrap the Pergo idea in favor of recarpeting, which will be cheaper and easier (we're going to sell the house in a little over a year--why put in Pergo?), and we decided on some specific ways to improve our home office. I also spoke about my desire to have a huge yard so that I could have a spring/summer business selling tomatoes, okra, basil, and flowers at a farmers' market. That fell into the "daydream" category. We talked about Christmas and how we'd love to rent a beach house in northern CA and have family members on both sides converge there. It would be so much nicer than having to choose one of our families to spend Christmas with and have the other family be sad. I hope we can talk everyone into it. Lastly, we decided to have a stir fry for dinner, on which I will do the advance prep while Francisco is tied up taking Boy to track practice. Yeah. Walking is good.

This morning when getting dressed I opened some new pantyhose--a kind I'd never purchased before--and it bills itself as having "comfort features". As near as I can tell, the comfort features consist of weird padded squares where the undersides of the toes should go. This is a very dumb comfort feature, because the padding is so minimal--it's like they wanted to convey the Idea of padding without going to the trouble of incorporating actual padding. Otherwise the pantyhose are fine, but I am looking forward to the weather warming up so I can abandon pantyhose for the duration. That's one good thing about the south--professional women can go barelegged without shame. When I worked in the L.A. area, it was damn hot but you just couldn't be professional and not wear hose, unless you were wearing a very long skirt and close-toed shoes. Which reminds me to say how much I hate the look of pantyhose with sandals. I can't even tell you how much this gives me the willies; it is gross.

Also, the cowbirds are migrating again, and my office is out of diet mountain dew.

That is all.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify