you're a pal and a confidant

2003-01-15

Roasted, salted soybeans are surprisingly delicious.

Also? West Wing tonight, with the oh so inadvisable "CJ getting it on with Matthew Modine" plot. Possibly it will have a happy ending (MM being run over by a car?), so I'm looking forward to it anyway. The episode synopsis on the NBC West Wing page mentions CJ checking in with Toby while she's away from the White House, so at least I'll get to see my Fictional Super Secret Imaginary Boyfriend a few times.

Not a lot to report. Last night Francisco went to his Blazing Pistols Roundup (which he hasn't done in several weeks) so it was just me and The Boy. I picked him up from his afterschool Tae Kwon Do (and listened to the last part of a lecture the class was getting from the funny-without-meaning-to-be teacher), took him home, and made grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup for dinner. I have always hated tomato soup, but that's because I'd never had good tomato soup before. I can't remember the brand of the soup, but it came in one of those suck-pack cardboard containers, like soy milk does. Quite good. And the sandwiches were made with Cougar Gold which we bought when we were in Seattle, and which alarmed the machine x-raying the checked luggage (the airport staff paged Francisco to get the suitcase lock combination, so they could search the bag for explosives). So the sandwiches were delicious. That was my whole point when I started in on the sandwiches, but then I digressed to talk about the cheese.

And Buffy wasn't on last night! The Boy was so disappointed. We gave the cold shoulder to the television after that, and read instead. I'm reading a book that I'm really enjoying, but it's not my usual type of reading material. It's this book; it presents the idea that we have all contracted to do certain things with our lives before we're born (the author believes in reincarnation), and we just don't remember what we said we'd do. Like, Mother Theresa would have agreed to work with the poorest of the poor before she was reincarnated into her life. So what Caroline Myss is saying is the path of our lives was determined in advance, and you can choose not to follow the predetermined path, but you'll always feel like you're not doing what you're supposed to do. She also says that the people in our lives agreed in advance to help us learn certain things so that we can follow the path we're supposed to. I've only read maybe 50 pages of the book, but the idea intrigues me. I don't believe in reincarnation, but I don't NOT believe in it, so I can sort of roll with the idea she's presenting and see where it goes. I've seen her show, The Journey, on Oxygen, and I really like it. Am I a tool? I'm not watching The Pet Psychic anymore...

Okay, the boss just left--that means I can go too, even though I was late to work today. No one left here to see me leave.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify