powder-fresh commando

2002-04-10

Francisco and I, with our powers of deduction, have concluded that it is Lucy, not Esther, who is doing the outside-of-the-box pooping. We are the poop police; we know these things. There are several clues, and one of the clues pointing to Lucy is that the culprit throws litter out of the box and covers the poo. Esther would just leave it there and walk away, proud of the stink she created--it is her way. When I go home today I'm going to thoroughly clean the bathroom, paying particular attention to cleaning the floor around the box, and Francisco is going to wash the inside of the box itself, because we don't know for sure whether at this point Lucy is pooping outside the box because the box smells too bad to poop in, or if the floor has absorbed the odor of her poop by this time, and to her it smells like the place to go. She could also be doing it to protest the light food we've switched to--I don't think she likes it as well as Esther does. Basically we don't really know why she's doing it, but we're going to try some things to make her stop. I'll tell you, dogs are terrific animals, but if you want a mystery you should have a cat. Their motives are far more complicated and interesting.

Yesterday Francisco came to get me at 1:00, and I had forgotten that we had drop-in hours at work from 1-4, for our new potential freshmen, so I had to tell him I couldn't go apply for the passports then. I proposed that he come back at 4 and he agreed, so that's when we went to the post office. And wouldn't you know, the office doing the passport applications closed at 4. We were so disappointed that we Looked disappointed, so the woman made an exception for us. Wasn't that nice? She let us into the office and took our info and checks and had us sign the documents, and we have officially applied. I don't know why, but it makes me so happy to have applied for a passport; I feel we have taken a very positive step in fulfilling our desire to travel extensively. I can hardly wait until the passports arrive--the woman told us we should have them within 6 weeks, which is good.

Last week Francisco and I discussed how we would coordinate our trip with the Boy's visit with his grandparents (my parents), and we were so worried and stressed out about it. This is because both of Boy's parents are using heroin (well, my brother went through detox recently, but to be honest I don't have any hope he will stay clean) and I don't want Boy to see them this summer. If he visited my parents in Oregon, there would be no real way to keep him from seeing them (they would show up at my parents' and if my parents said they couldn't see Boy, there would be screaming and whatnot), and various other relatives would be fighting with my parents over seeing Boy (per last summer's fiasco), and it is so frustrating for us to think about. Francisco and I came up with an alternative which I can now mention because it is a done deal. My parents are going to come out here and stay with the Boy. Per their excellent suggestion, they are also going to drive up to NJ to see my mom's brother and sister-in-law, and they will be seeing one of my mom's friends in VA as well. I think it will be fun for all of them and I am grateful to them for consenting to come out here, because it gives us far more peace of mind than if Boy went to see them--too many complications with having him near his other relatives. The tricky thing now is figuring out how to tell Boy's mom about it without having her go ballistic and refuse to sign the adoption consent papers. Francisco is going to call her tonight and break the news, and we figure we will have to promise a Xmas visit to get her to sign the papers. [I don't mind so much letting Boy see her if we will be present--I just don't trust her on her own.] She and Francisco have a decent rapport, which is good because she dislikes me by proxy. I don't believe I have ever done anything to hurt or offend her, but because I am related to her ex, she doesn't ever want to talk to me. I can understand that in a way, and I'm just glad she doesn't have issues with Francisco. I'll let you know how tonight's call goes--I'm nervous about it, but it must be done.

We get to interview a guy tomorrow to replace my favorite coworker who is leaving. I caught a glimpse of him on Monday when he interviewed with the boss, and he is a short, stocky, fireplug of a man who also looks friendly and nice, so we shall see. I need to think up some good questions to ask him. He is from New Orleans, so maybe I'll ask him if he likes Lucky Dogs, and if yes, which kind is his favorite. He has also lived in Mexico City, which will spawn all sorts of questions, but mostly I'm just interested to hear what life was like there. I hope he's a good guy and my boss hires him, because we need to be sure we get someone in that position as soon as possible.

I meant to mention something funny since last Wednesday, but I've been forgetting. Francisco went to the gym with me on Wed. morning, and when we had both picked up our jackets from the locker rooms and were leaving, he was snickering at something. Outside he told me that when he went into the mens locker room, there was a guy in there getting dressed. He had his back to Francisco and was bent over, jeans to his knees, because he was putting powder in them. He was going commando, and apparently he was embarrassed to get caught at it. So now when I see that guy (of course his secret nickname is now Commando), I inwardly smirk because I know something very private about him.

This morning at the gym I chest pressed (on an incline bench) 25 pound free weights, and I felt very strong and good. When I started with the weights 11.3 weeks ago, the most I could chest press was 12 pound weights, so I'm seeing good progress. I think the Boomhauers are looking at me with more respect now, but it might be my imagination. This morning some woman commented to me that the music was driving her crazy--it was Metallica--and I said, "oh, you don't like them?" And she said, "not in the morning". I smiled and nodded, but I was thinking that the raucous music is sometimes the only thing that keeps me awake and feeling sassy at the gym. If the music was soothing, I would probably not work as hard.

So did you read about the Diaryland picnic/get together? It sounds very fun and I would love to go, but I don't know that I'll be able to, especially because of our 2 week vacation in June. Are you or anyone you know going? I'm just curious. I'm going to see if there is any way to work it out, because there are so many people I would love to meet, starting with Andrew. I want to heap him up with gifts and prizes.

I think I'm done. I was all into writing when I started (much earlier this morning--I've been writing off and on), but then my energy level petered out. I am weak.

Talk to you later, sugarsnaps.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify