our dinner smelled like cat food

2002-12-10

There are trees down everywhere, and a big one in the office's front yard. Some guys are towing a chipper/shredder down the street right now and cannibalizing all the downed limbs, though not yet from the tree. It's making a lot of noise and I hate loud noise at work because it makes it hard to listen for people walking past my office (and I need that so I know to hide my interweb and IM stuff). There are trees down in our yard at home too--from the woods behind our house--and I feel sorry for them and for the birds and/or squirrels who lived in them. We'll need to rent a chainsaw to remove them, and the only good thing is I can throw all the limbs and stuff into that gap in the woods behind our yard, thus stopping children from cutting through there. I'd planned to buy some wicked thorny bushes to plant, but couldn't find any suitable ones anyway. So it's kind of good to have the limbs.

Beauregard the sweatered, ungroomed poodle isn't here again today; mores the pity. He's a very sweet dog and petting him made me feel useful and nurturing. And of course that sweater is a riot.

I need to go out at lunch today, to get my sister's xmas gift, but I'm dreading it because many of the stoplights are still not working and I'll have to deal with people not stopping when they should. That crap enrages me, and I dislike being enraged. But it's a really cool thing I found for my sister, so it's worth risking the high blood pressure. I like the store it's at too, so probably it'll be fun and I should just stop being a whiner about the stoplights. They might actually be working anyway. [fingers crossed hopefully]

Last night we didn't do much. When I got home Francisco was making some chicken that, at first, smelled so disgusting I felt sick. It smelled like heated-up cat food (and I know what that smells like because my mom used to heat her cats' food in cold weather), and I was just hoping it tasted better than it smelled. It did. It was, in fact, excellent chicken, and I still don't know why it smelled like that, but there you go. During and after dinner we watched DVD number 3 of 'Band of Brothers' (it was on HBO but we're getting the DVDs from Netflix--there are 5 DVDs in the series). It's really good, though disturbing in places, since it's about war and all. I can't imagine how anyone can be a soldier and get shot at and stuff without wetting their pants in terror. Because I would be totally wetting my pants in that situation, and I normally have excellent bladder control. War is crazy and I don't know why anyone would want to start a war if they didn't have to. I'm looking at you, Dubya.

Francisco just called--he's taking me to lunch and then we'll go to that store. Huzzah! This makes everything much better.

Boy went back to school today--he's bummed. He'd hoped school would be closed for several more days, but alas. I HA-ha'd him last night, which he pretended to be mad about but he was trying not to smile. He and I have a thing where I can make him smile no matter what; he just can't keep a straight face. This comes in handy, believe me.

I clearly don't have much to talk about today, so I'm going to stop. If something amazing happens today that has to be told, I'll update again later.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify