the cardboard chronicles

2002-01-28

It is a gorgeous day and I want to be home digging in the yard. I don't know what it is about beautiful winter days, but they make me want to dig and plant things. I will have to content myself with house plants for now.

I saw three movies this weekend--two rented and one on AMC. The rented ones were An Everlasting Piece, and Hedwig and the Angry Inch. The first was good but had a sort of weird, anticlimactic ending, and the second was Great! I cannot even tell you how great it was (though probably you've seen it already; I generally see things via rental), and the soundtrack rocked. I'm going to buy it tout suit. The movie I saw on television was The African Queen, which I had seen several times before, but it's so good it deserves a mention.

The weekend report is as follows:

Saturday I grocery shopped and used the new treadmill (very good except the belt is a bit slippery. That is supposed to wear off). I also did laundry and changed the sheets. My life is a wild roller coaster ride, I'll tell you. Sunday was my free day and it was nice but not quite as great as I thought it would be. I had 2 smallish pancakes with peanut butter for breakfast, with 3 bacons and coffee. For lunch (with my friend Kimberly) I had a Caesar salad topped with fried oysters. I was unfamiliar with the fried oyster option (the grilled chicken option is ubiquitous) but I like oysters so I thought I would give them a whirl. They were fabulous, it was a great salad. For dinner I made the bean and cheese burritos and I had a beer, and during the day I also consumed Hershey's miniatures, Swedish fish, and Starbucks Java Chip ice cream. The dessert things were a mistake, because they didn't add to the quality of my day and I felt sort of tired from all that sugar. Next Sunday I am not going to purchase sugary treats; I do not want them.

Regarding my lunch out on Sunday, I wanted to say that it was great to see Kimberly, and that she is fun to have lunch with because she eats so much. She is a size 5, but she is a really big eater, and it's amusing to see the waiter's reaction when she orders her food. She ordered herself a full egg/hashbrown/biscuit breakfast, and then she ordered French toast to go with it. He seemed just a trifle skeptical but he took the order and brought the food. She cleaned her plates and drank 3 glasses of sweet iced tea to go with it; she really did herself proud. It doesn't seem fair that she could remain a size 5 with her big appetite, but I've met her mother--she got good genes and a high metabolism.

After lunch we went to a used cd place and I got a cd. I didn't listen to it last night but I brought it to work and put the cd in the player this afternoon. Three songs into it I thought, "what the hell IS this?", and actually looked at the cd. It is not the Red Hot Chili Peppers, which is what I thought I bought. It is something called 'new fast automatic daffodils'. This didn't really come as Such a surprise to me, because the guy who sold me the cd (they keep the cases out and the actual disks behind the counter) was on the phone during the entire transaction. What I find surprising and ridiculous is that it took me 3 songs to figure out that I must have the wrong cd. I called the store and the guy had realized he made a mistake. They said to come in and they would trade me disks and give me a coupon, so it worked out fine.

I am feeling so boring today, I don't know why. This morning I had a dental appointment at 10 am, and I didn't go. I was planning to go; I even wanted to go, but the fates had other plans. What happened was, I didn't go to work this morning, in favor of staying home until my dental appointment, after which I would come to work. I planned to stop and recycle cardboard on the way to the dentist (we had a ton of cardboard from the treadmill box and various other boxes), so I put it all in the back of the truck and set out. The cardboard recycling bin we've been using is less than a � mile from the house, so I drove there (slowly--I didn't want the boxes flying out the back) and started to put the cardboard into the bin. I had only shoved in a couple pieces when someone came out of the store (a convenience store) and told me that the bin is "a private dumpster". This is news to me, and not good news, because it is so handy. At that point I had a couple of choices; drive back home and throw the cardboard into the yard and go to the dentist or drive to the much farther away cardboard recycling bins at the Walmart. I chose to get rid of the cardboard, even though it might make me late. I went kind of a back way to the Walmart, and I was driving slowly because the cardboard was flapping around back there. I was being aggressively tailgated so I experimentally sped up a bit and a huge piece of cardboard flew out the back and almost hit the guy behind me. I will sum up the drive to the Walmart by saying that it was several minutes of driving and stopping to retrieve cardboard from the road, and I was pissed. When I finally got there and threw the cardboard into the bins, I only had 10 minutes to get to my dentist, which is at least 20 minutes away. I drove back home and called to reschedule and it was no biggie. I had visions of them trying to charge me for the appointment because I didn't cancel 24 hours in advance, but they were very nice about it. So my teeth will not be cleaned for another month and a half-big deal. At least that cardboard is out of my life.

Do you like pickled things? Because I do. I'm really really big on pickled things, in fact, and yesterday I made some pickled red onions to go on my sandwiches this week. It's the vinegar I like, I'm a whore for the vinegar. I have even been known to drink a little vinegar in my day, disgusting though that may sound. Who wants the pickled onion recipe? Because I will be glad to give it out. Trust me, it will be the life of your sandwich's party. Or your salads. So many things can be improved with pickled onions.

In other news, Francisco and I bought a scale this weekend that doesn't just give your weight, it gives your percentage of body fat. Extra, extra! We are too fat! I had managed, somehow, to convince myself that I had a pretty good amount of muscle, but now I know the truth. But hey, I'm working on it; that's the point of this Body for Life thing, right? I hesitate to mention it, for fear of jinxing myself, but when I weighed on the old scale on Sunday morning (pre-the purchase of the new scale), it told me I had lost 2 pounds. Really just a titch over 2 pounds, but I am going to round down to 2. I did the lower body weightlifting this morning and I will definitely be sore tomorrow. I felt the burn, yes I did. One other gym thing I want to add is that I'm making nice with the bitches. There are these 2 women, probably just a bit younger than I, who are there all the time and who I took a dislike to even though I don't know them. I know I shouldn't do that. My dislike is founded on the fact that they seem to have a "better than you" sort of attitude, and also, they are gross locker room people. The kind of people who leave their used bandaids and q-tips around. I use those two things as an example because they have done exactly that, and on more than one occasion. But anyway, I decided at the end of last week that, as I am going to be at the gym more frequently and will have to be around them, I'm going to smile and say good morning and be nice. It is a much better thing, and they are smiling back, and maybe someday I will be pals with them, but don't hold your breath because I don't know how I could really be friends with gross locker room people.

Going to trade my wrong cd for the right cd now. Over and out.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify