Canoedling

2004-04-26

Francisco called me to report on the cats' vet appointment this morning, and holy crap--Esther is FAT! I mean, we knew she was fat, but she's gained more than 2 pounds in the past year, and now weighs in at 16 pounds, 3 ounces. I didn't realize that, because I guess it's like those farmers who lift a newborn calf every day--it gets heavier and they get stronger. Anyway, the upshot is that we now have to start feeding them meals; one in the morning and one at night. They're almost 11 years old and are used to having a bowl of food in the kitchen at all times so they can eat when they're hungry, and this meal thing is going to be a real shock to their systems. I doubt I'll get much sleep this week. We're going to start the meal thing tomorrow morning, so we'll remove their food bowl from the floor at about 8 tonight, and they'll probably get hungry during the night and will try to make me get up and feed them in the wee hours of the morning. Lather, rinse, repeat, until they get the hang of eating twice a day. I will be So sleep-deprived.

Canoeing yesterday was fun, though I'd forgotten how much work paddling is. Our arms/shoulders are very sore today. Boy complained this morning about a sore neck and back, but he didn't get any sympathy, since his pain is merely from reclining awkwardly in the canoe, while calling himself The Canoe Prince (or some such thing) and issuing commands that we ignored. Got a tiny sunburn, but less than I'd expected from 3 hours out on the water. I guess our sunscreen works better than I thought.

Good weekend! Friday night we drank margaritas and watched 'Jackass, The Movie' while laughing our fool heads off. I laughed so hard I thought I'd have a stroke; Jackass is endlessly amusing to me. Saturday we moved around slowly, due to the previous night's margaritas, but managed to go to the library and to our favorite Asian market, where we bought things like rice noodles, sesame oil, and various canned curry pastes. We also got some rice crackers called Hot Mate (there is wasabi involved) and this "tea" I've been looking for for about 10 years. It's not your ordinary tea--it comes in a jar and looks like marmalade, but you stir a spoonful into a cup of hot water and it becomes honey-citron tea. I had this stuff at someone's house 10 years ago but didn't know where to buy it--Finally I have found it. Delicious.

Otherwise this weekend we watched The Office, season 2 (so good, but those first two episodes are excruciating for people who suffer from Sympathetic Humiliation Syndrome, like Francisco) and Eddie Izzard's 'Circle' (again--we've seen it before but a coworker taped it for me awhile back, and we were inspired to re-watch it)--he is a genius. Also this weekend we cleaned the house and it looks decent again; it was getting pretty groce there for a few days. Aaaand, I know we did other stuff this weekend, but I can't really remember what it was, so whatever.

Work is still nutty, and I have allergies; lots of pollen in the air. On the plus side, our non-purple bearded irises are blooming now (the purple ones in the front bed bloom earlier and are done now) and they're very pretty. We have yellow and white and a two-tone sort of mauve and maroon. Once they're done, the non-bearded ones will start. The roses on the front fence just started blooming this weekend too. Our yard is prettiest in spring and that's when I love it best, allergies notwithstanding.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify