ever so callipygian

2002-05-16

Okay, Andy turned me on (so to speak) to a new word:

Callipygian:

(per the Oxford English Dictionary--)

"Of, pertaining to, or having well-shaped or finely developed buttocks.

[1646 SIR T. BROWNE Pseud. Ep. IV. vi. 195 Callipyg� and women largely composed behinde.] a1800 The Callipygian Venus. 1885 Athen�um 17 Oct. 497 The Callipygian luxuriance he so deplores."

I cannot stop saying callipygian. I've even got The Boy saying callipygian--he's probably the only 5th grader for miles that knows the word. I can't tell you how much I'm loving that.

Hear ye, hear ye--I declare Yoplait yogurt to be the best, particularly the cherry and orange creme varieties. These are delicious and I am speaking of the kinds containing sugar, because I really dislike aspartame. Also, I find Yoplait Whips to be nauseous and gag-making, so the Yoplait company needs to work on quality consistency. If you like the Whips, more power to you, but they are not my cup of tea. Too much like cool whip or something.

My hair needs a trim and I have no time to go to a stylist. Therefore, I roped Francisco into cutting it tonight after work. I just want him to cut off maybe an inch all over, evenly, and I think he can handle that. He is a little nervous about it, but it will save me so much time and right now time is of the essence. Seriously, I am starting to get very worried about how much I have to get done in the next 3 weeks and I can't afford to waste any time, even for a haircut.

That said, I have to leave early tomorrow to go order some new glasses. These are about 7 years old and they're not quite strong enough--I've had a headache for 2 1/2 weeks. I hope my eye will be over the infection soon and that I can go back to wearing contacts, but I can't count on that, and in any case it would be good to have glasses that are the right prescription, in case this happens again. I am also harboring hopes that there is some new space-age technology that will make the new lenses significantly thinner than they are now. Francisco the smartass said, yesterday morning, that he thinks the Hubble got new lenses and maybe the old ones will be available to me. Isn't he just so amusing?

I've started aiming positive mental energy rays at my eyelid. I'm feeling a little foolish and I don't know that it's working, but at this point I would try even Witchcraft or Black Magic--anything to cure this eyelid thing.

Last night I assisted Francisco in bottling some pale ale he started on Sunday night. Basically my part consisted of clamping the caps on the bottles, which is what I like best anyway, and the batch made 50 bottles. Should be good--I'll keep you posted.

WW = !! Wow, I really loved that episode, but it seemed to go by so fast! I swear there were more commercials, but maybe it was just my impatience making it seem that way. I've heard people say CJ's secret service guy is going to get shot, and I guess probably he is, but I really like the little relationship thing he and CJ have going, so I hope he doesn't die. Next Wednesday can't get here soon enough.

Today I bought 4 yards of vintage orange linen from eBay, and I'm excited because the fabric is perfect for curtains in my bedroom. I'm going to make the curtains as soon as I receive the fabric--tab top curtains or something easy--and the bedroom redecoration will be on its way. I want to get something orange for the bed--blanket or similar--and get some orange drawer pulls for the dresser. I also need to make a cover for the small desk I have in the bedroom because it is dark wood and everything else is light. That little desk was my Great Aunt Ruby's--she bought it when she was 22 and gave it to me when I was in my late teens. The desk is 74 years old and I love it and will never sell it, but until I have somewhere else to put it, I'm going to make a cover. The cover will also enable me to store stuff in the leg hole, like I'm already doing, and that doesn't look so good sans cover.

Can you tell I have little to report? The parking lot closure (mentioned last Friday I think) went through yesterday, and you should Hear the bitching. You'd think people were incapable of walking a couple blocks to and from work. Personally I am parking about half a mile from work and I'm finding the walk very pleasant. I keep thinking about how I'm burning extra calories and that's a good thing, and it's funny that my coworkers, most of whom go to a gym or otherwise exercise regularly, are getting cranky about getting extra exercise. Our boss is out of town for a few days, so he's avoided the parking hoopla, but I can hardly Wait until he gets back, because he will be very bent out of shape about the parking. He is so pompously self-important that he thinks he'll be able to still park in the lot, but he's in for a shock. It'll be fun to see him inconvenienced. I know that makes me a tad bit evil, but it'll be good fun, for real.

I'm being tres efficient today and am getting a lot done, and that makes me happy. I am the very model of a modern major general.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify