calf scratch fever

2002-08-22

This morning I rescued a very large grasshopper from the office bathroom. He was wily but he was no match for me and my 32 ounce plastic cup, and now he's hopping safely somewhere on the front lawn. How he got into the bathroom is a mystery--it's on the second floor, and the window is open about two inches, but it's open at the top. So I guess I do know How he got in, but it's weird that he did because it's just so improbable.

Esther's asthma has really been acting up lately; it's worrying me. The past few nights she's been having attacks at least once (usually more than once) in the middle of the night, and last night was no exception. I was extra worried about her last night because she was sleeping in the living room rather than on the bed, and she only seems to do that when she isn't feeling well. Last night I had to get up to use the bathroom, and afterwards I checked on her and in doing so scratched the hell out of my left calf. We have a stainless steel coffee table with a piece of glass over the top, and the glass was a little askew and I scraped my leg on a corner of it. I heard the scrape before I felt it, and it hurt like you would not believe. I limped to the bathroom and put Neosporin on it and went back to bed. 3 hours later when Esther had her attack of the night, I got up to pill her and discovered my scratch was all swelled up and hideous. More Neosporin and it's better now but still hurts. I think this is about the 30th calf scratch I've had off that table. Beauty is pain.

After I pilled Esther she came to sleep on the bed, and she wanted to get under the covers with me so I let her (can't refuse that cat anything, especially when she has problems with the asthma). She proceeded to crawl around (and on me) for awhile, trying to get a position she could live with, and it was a Long time before I could get back to sleep. I didn't get up and use the treadmill this morning, and I really should've because I've only exercised one morning this week. Being dog-tired is too easy an excuse. Tomorrow morning I'm going to get up and treadmill no matter how badly I sleep tonight.

Speaking of sleeping, last night I dreamed I had found a baby and didn't know what to do with it. I felt that I couldn't keep it, and I was trying to think of who to give it to, and then I suddenly thought of my sister's best friend, Kimmy, and that was IT! Relief flooded into me because I knew Kimmy and her husband would be great parents for the baby--I can't even tell you much better I felt after remembering Kimmy. And do you know, if in real life I found a baby, I would Totally give it to Kimmy. Kimmy will be my go-to found baby person.

My Seattle friend, Diana, is So funny. We've been having an email conversation about people we used to know, and about one person she said, "He did mellow out and become more likeable after his parents bought him that mail-order bride". I could explain that comment but I'm going to let it ride because I think it's funniest on its own.

Did you see my Fictional Super Secret Imaginary Boyfriend on the TEEvee last night? I like him even better when the writers let him be happy. And of course the CJ/Simon first meeting was good--I enjoy the episodes featuring them (except that last one of course).

I don't have a lot to talk about today. I got a couple pictures my sister sent me, of her and her new boyfriend, and they look happy. If she's happy, I'm happy.

Last night I read some of the latest National Geographic and some of Fast Food Nation (I'm on the french fry chapter), and I watched some television, including (duh) West Wing. We've been allowing Boy to "stay up" for West Wing, which means that we let him watch it with us, in our bed, and he falls asleep around 9:30; his normal bedtime anyway. After the show is over, Francisco carries Boy upstairs. It's a nice ritual, and it's funny because every time Boy is really convinced he will be able to stay awake until 10, but he never makes it. It's cute to see him try.

Okay, I'm outta here. I hope your day is more exciting than mine has been, so far.

Love,

E

PS Oh my aching calf scratch! |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify