The Blanket is all-consuming

2001-12-10

Did I ever mention that I used to be a semi-busybody when I was in grade school? I would inform the teacher if one of my fellow tablemates was having trouble with some part of an assignment, or if someone was causing trouble--stuff like that. More often than not I would be given the customary teacher admonishment, "You just worry about Eva and let [whoever] worry about [whoever]". Remember that? I heard that lots of times when I was a kid. I mention this because this weekend I was laying in bed one night, fuming about this computer guy I have to deal with who is rude and short tempered with people, and I was thinking that someone should tell him that he treats people really badly. Just as I thought that, I heard a little voice in my head say, "You just worry about Eva and let Bob worry about Bob". And do you know, it finally became clear to me what good advice those teachers had been dispensing all those times. All these years I thought they had just been saying "shut up" in a nice way. I have made this my new mantra. Whenever someone has ticked me off, I am just letting them worry about themselves, and it is saving me a lot of stress.

On my way home from work on Friday night I heard, on WXDU, this song I had only heard once before, and that was when I was about 20 years old and living in Seattle. Well, actually I've heard the song lots and lots of times, but this particular rendition I've only heard twice. It is a little girl singing Somewhere Over the Rainbow, and she has the hiccups. I figure her parents had captured her performance on a tape recorder or something. Anyway, it's a total crackup; I love it. Have you heard it?

On Friday when I went home early, I watched (or listened, really) to Auntie Mame while I worked on The Blanket. In the evening I made margaritas for Francisco and I, and then he and Boy and I had dinner and watched The Matrix on TBS. We had never seen it before and at first I didn't much like it, but then once I figured out what was going on, I liked it a lot more. I give it a solid B (it takes a lot to get an A from me, and good special effects alone aren't enough). We even watched some of the movie over again when TBS showed it on Saturday night, because now that we knew what was going on, the first part was more enjoyable.

Saturday morning Francisco had an exam to administer, so I took Boy to his Aikido lesson (which is at the gym I belong to), and I did a treadmill for almost 30 minutes. I had planned to go 30 minutes but some lady, in passing behind the treadmills, kicked the power cord of my treadmill and unplugged it, and I didn't feel like reprogramming my treadmill all over again. And you know, I was a little annoyed, but only because she didn't even acknowledge that she'd done it or apologize or anything. But I forgave her about 5 minutes later when she turned out to be a nurse and gave medical attention to this poor man who apparently broke his nose lifting weights. What happened is he was doing the butterfly press, the one where you squeeze a couple weights together basically right where your face is, and the wires holding the weights jumped the tracks. He had a lot of weight on there, and he was lifting it, and when the wires came unattached, the press thing slammed together and hit him in the face. He was bleeding everywhere and the weightlifting Testosteronies were at a loss. Powercord Kicking Nurse came over and held a towel to his face--she made him lay down and made one of the Testosteronies bring a weight bench for him to put his feet on, and she asked him nurse-y questions and did a very good job. That poor man--I felt so sorry for him. One good thing came out of it though--when everyone was clustered around him, I took the opportunity to use the weight thing where you lay on your stomach and lift weights by curling your legs up to your rear. That weight bench is of the variety that hoists your hindquarters into the air most unflatteringly, so I usually avoid it, but with everyone staring at Broken Nose, I seized my chance. His sacrifice was not made in vain. Poor thing.

Yesterday we got So Much Done. We got up pretty early (well, 7:30) and went out to breakfast. We then went shopping and got almost all the rest of our gifts. We just need to get the doorway jumper for Lucia, and gifts for Boy's cousins and we'll be done. We'll get those things from Amazon, probably. We got home about 12:30, and then I went back out to look for little tins (to package the magnets in), and I got caught up in the parade our little town has every year. "Caught up" is maybe a little too dramatic. I went through the parade area just before they closed the street off, and there were tons of people there to watch the parade, so naturally I drove really slow while doing the prom queen wave. I was laughing so hard the whole time, I could even have been said to guffaw. It was really funny to me. I didn't end up finding the tins, but I'm going to keep looking. I know a place that might have them--I'll try tomorrow.

Otherwise yesterday I did three loads of laundry, changed our sheets, wrapped all the gifts we bought, worked on The Blanket (it's about half done), made 6 dozen Rum Balls (with Francisco's excellent help), and � I guess that's it. But it was a lot and I feel really good about getting so much stuff done. I'm feeling a lot less stressed.

This morning I had a 2 � hour meeting, and then at 1:00 I went to the local mall (with some coworkers) to wrap gifts at a charity booth. It's for a good cause and I really like wrapping, so I enjoyed it, but there were a lot fewer people wanting things wrapped than last year. I guess if you're worried about your money, you're more likely to wrap your own gifts than pay for someone else to do it. Even if they do a Lovely job, like we did.

About an hour ago our office did the cookie exchange, and I have to say if you get roped into a cookie exchange, you should Absolutely choose Rum Balls as your cookies, because they are so easy. At least 2 people said they would never participate in a cookie exchange again, because the baking was so tedious. It only took Francisco and I about an hour or less to do the cookies, and no hot oven. I really got the best end of the deal. For sure. And the Rum Balls are quite tasty! I recommend.

I better be going now, because Boy called a couple hours ago to say he got a Christmas gift in the mail but that Francisco was making him wait until I got home to open it. It's from my crazy Aunt Louvinia, so I fear his excitement will quickly turn to disappointment, but I should get home anyway so he doesn't have to wait any longer.

Love to you,

E

PS Congratulations to Jen on the completion of her fabulous magnets! I had absolute faith in her magnet-making abilities, and I am sure they are Gorgeous. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify