rushing to the doctor

2001-12-04

I am going to leave in just a few minutes to meet my new primary care doctor, so I must rush. I don't know if I previously mentioned my purpose for making an appt. with my new doctor, but it's because I think I've got the rosacea. My mom has it and I know it tends to be genetic, and my skin flushes easily and breaks out in red spots that are different from normal acne-type breakouts. It's not too bad yet (though it seems worse at some times than at others), but if it is indeed the rosacea I would like to know what I can do to prevent it. I know there are topical prescriptions that really work, so we'll see what the doctor recommends. Maybe I'll have to get referred to a dermatologist, who knows.

There is something I've been meaning to talk about in the diary for awhile, but I have kept forgetting because I only recently wrote it down to remind myself. Francisco and I have a friend (he's mostly Francisco's friend but this is a community property state) who is Indian by heritage but grew up in and is a citizen of South Africa. His name is Sam; I might as well just call him by name. Anyway, a couple weeks after Sept. 11, Sam was going to fly to Arizona for a recording session (he plays drums and some guy wanted to hire him to play on some album or other), and he was in first class. Everyone boarded and the plane sat on the ground for longer than normal, and it continued to sit and sit and finally the pilot asked Sam to come into the cockpit for a minute. He then told Sam that he was sorry but some of the passengers were nervous about him being on the plane, so he would have to get off. Can you believe that? I know that happened to other people, but it sickens me that people are so ignorant. Kicked off the plane for being brown. Assholes.

I guess that's all I have time for, and anyway, there's nothing else to report. Small birds are not pecking me today--work is actually pretty good today. Huh.

I'll update tomorrow re: the doctor.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify