an attempt at brevity

2002-07-02

Yes. You are all correct, and I knew it not even halfway into yesterday's entry. It was not a minimalist entry, not at All, but in my defense I fully intended it to be when I started it. I just can't shut up when I gots something to say, and last weekend gave me too much material.

I am so happy to hear that Catie has also caught cat barf in her hands, and that she has done it more than once. Thank you for telling me that, Catie! Because anything Catie does automatically seems like a completely sensible thing to do.

To make up for my failure to follow through on what I started yesterday, today's entry will be short. This is actually more because I don't have a lot to tell, because if I did then I would just tell it. All I have to report today is that Francisco and I watched Ghost World last night and that we decided to quit the gym. Re: Ghost World, I had rented it last November when Francisco was at a conference, so he had never seen it and I liked it enough to want to see it again. Re: quitting the gym, I know that seems totally counterproductive when I'm trying to slim down and all, but I think it's the right decision for right now. We have a treadmill and we're going to get some dumbells, plus I am going to get an aerobic step and a tape, because I love step aerobics and my gym doesn't offer a morning class. I may also try yoga and pilates and other trendy crap like that, because it feels good to think about trying something new. I've been going to my current gym for over a year and I have stopped looking forward to going there, being entertained by mush-mouthed good ole boys notwithstanding. Seriously, you should've seen how elated Francisco and I were after we made the decision to stop going to the gym. We were grinning like kids on Christmas morning.

Oh wait, dammit, I have one more thing to say, and this is a bad thing. A woman who lives in my neighborhood was coming around to houses yesterday to let everyone know there is a neighborhood meeting tonight to discuss a terrible thing that happened. Some 13 year-old boy in my neighborhood sexually assaulted a 7 year-old girl in our neighborhood recently. Isn't that rotten? I hadn't heard anything about that until yesterday and I don't know who either of the kids is, but I could make a guess at the boy. And I know it's not nice of me, but I think I might just go to the meeting tonight to find out who the boy is, because if it's anyone my Boy knows and plays with, I'd rather he didn't in the future. Call me insensitive to the 13 year-old if you want to, because I don't care.

So see, this is still pretty short. Francisco is going to a social function at a gun range tonight, in his quest to find the perfect range, so it'll just be me at home for awhile. I want to have a Take Back the House night, to clean and try to organize things, and also I can't decide if I should have canned soup for dinner or get some sushi on the way home. It seems like a no-brainer [take the sushi!] until you consider that I'm tired and lazy after work and also that we're having a thunderstorm. I think canned soup will win out tonight, and Francisco made bread today, so that would be a good accompanyment.

Love,

E

PS I hadn't seen my boss in over a month, the way my vacation and the boss's schedule have worked out, but today he's in the office. And I have had a headache all day. Coincidence? I think not. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify