Barbie bootie, when "bootie" still meant riches

2002-10-21

I know I have internal organs, but whenever I try to imagine them in there, pulsating, digesting, and just generally doing their thing, it creeps me out like you cannot imagine. Seriously, feel your heart beating, and then picture what it must look like in your chest, constricting and relaxing, constricting and relaxing. Isn't that so creepy? Because someday our hearts are going to stop doing that, and we don't have any control over when it's going to happen. Or control over our stomachs or colons or appendixes. Or our lungs--my god, our lungs!! There's this whole world of stuff going on inside our torsos, and we rarely think about it unless there's trouble in paradise, i.e. vomiting or instestinal distress or appendicitis. Or heart attacks, god forbid. So basically I'm happy to not think about my organs, because short of eating well and exercising and sleeping enough, there is little I can do to persuade them to continue functioning. Ridiculous truculent organs.

This morning I dreamt I met Andreas, one of the AtomicFriends, at the Amsterdam airport. How I knew it was him I'm not sure, since I've never met him before, and actually in the dream he didn't look like his picture. It was a mortifying dream, because I was so excited to meet him I was the world's biggest dork, and I knew I was being a dork, but I was powerless to prevent it. It will probably be exactly the same when/if I do meet him in real life, because that's the kind of luck I have with first impressions.

When I read through my non-spam emails this morning at work, there was one from the head honcho of my employer, telling us [all employees got the email] that she recommends we contribute to United Way, and to one charity in particular. She listed all her reasons why they're a good organization and why we should donate to them, and I am angry. Is it just me or is it totally inappropriate for the big boss to tell people who to donate to? I've already made my charity choices (they do not include her charity), and that's the thing: They're MY charity choices. I'm donating MY money to charities I think are important. Who is she to say that her charity is better or does more important work? I don't think it's her role to offer this kind of unsolicited advice to people. If someone were to ask her who she thought was worthy, Then she could give her opinion. But in a mass email to all employees? Not appropriate. Am I overreacting? I'm open to the possibility that I'm making too much out of this, since it is, after all, a Monday morning and I wish I weren't here.

It was worse to come back to work today than it normally is on a Monday, because my boss is back from Italy. He had a great time. I know I said at one point that I hoped he wouldn't have a good time, but that was wrong of me. That was evil and bad and I've repented of that. I'm glad he had a good time, but what I wish now is that he'd have had such a good time that he would never have come back. Work is different when he's here, and not in a good way. Everyone is a little mournful today at the loss of a happy office. It's a whole different dynamic when he's not here; a better dynamic.

On Friday night I dreamed I swallowed a long, thin piece of white plastic, and I woke up in a panic. Francisco woke up too and was asking me if I was okay, and what was wrong, and he kept asking me questions that I couldn't answer because I was so groggy. I managed to convey that I was okay, but I was cranky with him because I just wanted to go back to sleep and couldn't think why he was making such a big deal. In the morning I remembered that I had told him about my Thursday night heart racing incident, so that was why he was so worried, and I felt terrible for being cranky. Poor guy. I wake him up with my nightmare and then get snappish at him for being worried. It's a wonder he still loves me.

I don't want to jinx anything, but I do want to say we have renewed hope Boy's mom might sign the adoption consent. If she signs it I'll update with full details, but for now I'll just say I have my fingers crossed, and hopefully she won't pull the rug out from under us again.

This was a pretty good weekend. We cleaned our car and truck (didn't yet destainify; we'll do that this week) and they look much better. We bought the light fixture for the stairwell (a nice-looking round fluorescent) and two wall-mounted sconces (the kind that don't directly wire into the wall--we are not electricians) for our bedroom and they're Great. They're halogen and have dimmer switches and are directional so we can point them exactly where we want them and get the brightness we want, and I'll tell you, I'm in love with them. None of the fixtures was expensive, and they're making us very happy. We also bought some of that Pledge orange oil stuff and Francisco applied it to the kitchen cabinets. They look gorgeous and the kitchen smells like oranges; a win/win product. I'm nesting for Fall--can you tell? Otherwise this weekend we read books and watched Little Voice (Netflix) and Boy went with a friend to see The Tuxedo (Jackie Chan), and it was a relaxing two days. Though a relaxing 3 or 4 days would've been preferable.

What's the best thing you've ever bought? When I think about things I've bought, one item leaps out as being the best, most satisfying, and greatest consumer triumph of my life. It is the $2 shoebox of Barbie clothes I got at a garage sale when I was about 9. When I looked through the shoebox that fateful day, I knew instantly that I had to have it. I ran the half block home, got my $2, and ran like hell back to claim my prize and clutch it to my as-yet nonexistant bosom. When I got the shoebox home I discovered there were dozens of outfits in there--most hand-made--and even a handmade Barbie-sized quilt. This expanded my Barbies' wardrobe by about 400% and I spent many [no. Many] happy hours dressing them and accessorizing the outfits. I was a loner, see. The Barbies allowed me to act out scenes of socializing without actually having to talk to other people. Ah, good times, good times. I try to remember that $2 purchase when I'm tempted to buy something expensive that I don't need, because nothing I buy will ever give me as much pure joy as those Barbie clothes.

I guess I should go do some work now. Grumble.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify