I'm terrified, so it must be destiny

2004-04-15

This morning when I was almost to work, a black cat ran across the road in front of me. I noted it was a black cat and thought I'm glad I'm not superstitious, but thinking about the superstition made me think that if something bad happened today, I would remember the cat, even though I'm not superstitious. Two minutes later I had parked and was starting to walk to the office when a lady who had parked across from me hailed me and asked if I just dropped my keys. I said I didn't think so and she said she'd glanced at me right when I dropped my keys into my purse and she saw something fall to the ground. So I went back to look and my keys were on the ground by my car door. Yikes! If she hadn't told me, I would've had no idea they fell and would've been searching frantically in my purse at the end of the day, and plus, the car could've been stolen So easily. I thanked that lady profusely and thought about my good fortune when walking to the office, and of course my brain gave the black cat a quick groping. I don't really think the black cat and the car key incident are related in any way, but I still said, "HA-ha, Universe", because if the Universe was trying to get me, that lady's eagle eye gave it a good thwarting.

I generally really like the neighborhood we live in, but apparently there are some really stupid people who live there. As in, people who think it's a good idea to play with a remote-control car in the cul-de-sac I live in, at 12:30 in the freaking morning. The noise of the car woke me up and scared the crap out of me, because I was totally woozy and couldn't tell where the noise was coming from. I also couldn't tell What it was at first, so I thought there was some mystery noise emanating from my living room, and I woke up Francisco to make him listen. Whoever was out there played with the car for maybe 10 more minutes before going home, and I thought about trying to make him/them leave sooner, but I wasn't sure what to do. I tell you, that happens again and I'm buying a pellet gun.

Busy day again today, but not totally heinous. The last family I met with asked to talk to my boss when they were leaving, which seemed weird because our meeting went well, but it turned out the lady used to work for a good friend of my boss's and just wanted to say hi. And you know, sometimes I really enjoy my boss's southern boy funnyness, like when he told the lady she is "obviously a very strong and powerful woman" for admitting to even Knowing his friend, and when he told her he'd worked here a long time and he is "almost ten days older than water". He's not a Total jerk, for all the irritation he sometimes gives me.

Today I had an idea for a project that is close to my heart yet scares me very much. The fact it scares me so much is what makes me think I should do it, and it mainly scares me because it's a big project and I don't have a clue where to start. I'm going to brainstorm with Francisco and see what I think. I'll get back to you.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify