Barbie and the donkey bollocks

2004-07-30

On Wednesday and Thursday I submitted lists (one list each day) to McSweeney's, and got rejection emails for both of them. The first I wasn't surprised about, because after I sent it I was thinking it's not really the kind of list they publish, so I was ready for that one to be rejected. But the other one I felt had a chance. It was "Names of Gold Mines On the Siskiyou Country Library�s Mine List Which Would Also Be Good Names for Large, Orange, Male Cats". Not the world's Cleverest list concept, but not too far off the kinds of things they seem to like. But, rejected, which could theoretically discourage me but which has instead made me more determined to compose the kind of list they accept. Frequently I feel McSweeney lists are far funnier in concept than they are in actuality, like the title is funny but the list itself is meh. But if I can write a funny title and meh list and have that accepted, I will feel triumphant. I'll keep you posted.

The boss went home early and the Second in Command decided we would take advantage of his absence to have margaritas and slideshows of her Portugal trip (from a year and a half ago) plus some of my Scotland pictures (Francisco sent me about 40 last week, so I could have a few to show). I put together a slideshow that included not only the pictures he sent, but also some funny ones I got off the web from different places. I did the whole, "How did That get in there??" thing, because people; I can only rarely do things straight up. The slideshows went well and the picture I ended with (naked pic montage of Brad Pitt from some tabloid or other) got a big laugh, which of course was very gratifying. Not much work got done this afternoon, because at 1:15 we had a little going-away lunch for our student employee, and that lasted until 2:30 or so. The boss had gone to lunch with his daughter and her baby, but they got back and had some ice cream. His daughter is one of the sweetest people ever, and she's very likeable, but she has that "my baby is the most interesting creature on this earth" disease, so when they got back to the office, the baby was about all that was talked about. And he's a cute baby, but since it was a lunch for our student employee, it was weird that the baby dominated.

My parents are visiting this weekend--they're arriving tomorrow and staying until Tuesday morning. I'm very excited to see them, but I feel unprepared. I need to go home and get ready for them to be here, and I'm out of the office on Monday, so it's too bad I got so little done today, because I'm sure people will be wondering why their awards and/or appeals are not processed. I'll have to roar into the office like a runaway freight train on Tuesday and accomplish everything on my desk. That is my big plan. I got sidetracked from my new work plan this morning because I was writing a diatribe about Barbie, only not the kind of diatribe you'd think. I'm actually pro-Barbie, as I feel arguments against her are donkey bollocks. I loved Barbie when I was a kid, and don't feel she caused me any self-esteem problems, which seems to be the main beef people have against her. Ridonculous, I say.

Gotta run off now--have a great weekend!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify