fucking knitting

2001-11-30

Yesterday evening I watched the rerun of Wednesday night's The Daily Show. It was funny, though not as funny as sometimes, but Jon Stewart made a reference to Three's Company, and he specifically mentioned 'The Regal Beagle', which cracked me up. Remember how The Regal Beagle was the bar the Three's Company people always went to? That's the kind of thing that really gets me--references to the old television shows I watched in my youth. Shows I liked at the time but which I now recognize to be total crap. Say it out loud to yourself, I dare you. The Regal Beagle. Now say, "I think I'll meet Jack and Crissy for cocktails down at The Regal Beagle". Are you smirking?

This morning I tried to get up for the gym, but failed utterly. 5:00 just comes way too early for me, especially when I'm having trouble sleeping at night, as I have been recently. So I stayed in bed and an hour later Francisco got up and showered, and as he was letting the shower warm up I was Sooo cozy in bed. The cats were huddled up around me, and I said, "I can't get up; I have CATS." Francisco said, over the noise of the shower, "Why don't you try your mom's bacon trick?" This implies, of course, that the cats had insinuated themselves into my skin, and basically it made me laugh pretty hard, particularly since it was early and my defenses were down. Don't worry if you don't think it's funny, because probably it isn't to anyone but us.

This morning I was talking to someone about my great aunt Ruby, and I remembered something about her that seems really incongruous. Ruby was a woman who liked being surrounded by nice things. She had, earlier in life, purchased lovely furniture and her decor was always tasteful. But what I remembered about visiting her in her apartment was that she would usually be drinking scotch and water, and she would always drink it out of a white plastic cup that had a baseball player on it. She had been given, by someone--maybe my mom--a few of these baseball cups, and they were always the ones she used. I really didn't ever think about those cups before, but now they make me smile.

Boy is spending the night tonight at Tony's, so Francisco and I are going Out, baby! I'm not wild about letting Boy hang around with Tony, since he is such an amazing cretin, but I guess it won't really Harm Boy, and besides, I want a night out. I think we're going to see 'The Man Who Wasn't There', but we might see something else instead. We'll also be getting dinner out--I'm going to push for Indian or Greek.

Can I just report that the knitting is shaping up to be a minor obsession? I didn't used to think of myself as someone who knits, but I like it so much, and now that I can decipher patterns, I find myself wanting to make a bunch of stuff. Today I found a really nice baby blanket pattern on the web, and I think I want to make it for Lucia. So I guess this weekend I will be yarn shopping. And dorkishly, I am very excited about it. Otherwise this weekend, I need to clean up the house and maybe I'll go to the library. I will also probably buy even More ingredients for marble magnets, because Francisco put all the magnets we made last weekend--all 100 of them--onto our refrigerator, and he says he likes the way they look there. I'll have to make more so that we have enough to give away and enough to keep for ourselves.

Survivor last night didn't yield much to talk about, since it was just a recap, but I do want to say that Frank doesn't really know much about people. If he thinks making antlers fight each other will motivate his team before challenges, then he is barking up the wrong tree.

Love to you, my little bunny rabbits. And Bless You. I can legitimately bless people now that I'm an Ordained Minister...

XO,

E

PS shit fuck piss hell damn ass. I just want first time readers to know what kind of person I am, and this nice little crafty entry isn't cutting it on its own. I have many dimensions, most of them large. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify