my better half is heading home

2002-03-27

Open letter to Kyle, on RW Chicago:

Kyle, I hate you so much. You are quite possibly the world's biggest pussy. Either do or don't, but stop subjecting us to all this "I like Keri so much but I don't want to mess up my relationship with Nicole" teenage angst. It is BORING and I am very tired of looking at all your emotionally-wrought facial expressions that really just make you look like you have the constipation.

Sincerely,

tattoobelly

PS For real--it is annoying.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I don't think the thing making me feel awful on Monday was the flu, because I felt better yesterday and I don't think the flu would go away that fast. Just some random virus, I guess.

So do you know whose Boy is the 4th and 5th Grade Four Square Champion of his elementary school? My Boy, that's who. And he is Proud. He has made no fewer than 6 phone calls to relatives to tell them about his new championship status. He will be getting a medal later this week, and I know he'll want to wear it to bed and in the shower. He is very cute.

Last weekend I bought a mattress pad for our bed, and naturally the weather has now turned Springlike, rendering my new mattress-padded bed too hot for comfort. A girl can't win. Don't get me wrong; I love the Spring and I love seeing all the plants coming back to life and whatnot. I'm excited to start my gardening project and to stop wearing pantihose for awhile. However. Does it have to be so warm at night? Yesterday evening we had the first thunderstorm of the season, and it was delightful, if a little short on thunder. I'm not complaining, though, because we'll be getting thunderstorms a'plenty soon enough.

Francisco is flying back today! Let me tell you, I can hardly wait. Things aren't nearly as good without him around. It's been weird being without him for so long lately--I'm not used to it. And Boy sure misses Francisco--he misses all the wrestling. I'm not so much into the wrestling, particularly because I hate having to guess if Boy is actually in pain or if he's just trying to trick me when he says, "Ow!". Anyway, after we pick Francisco up from the airport tonight, our plans include going home and whiling away time until West Wing is on. We will then lay up in the bed with West Wing and love every minute of it. And this Sunday we are So going out for breakfast. We haven't gone to breakfast on Sunday morning (except in Seattle a couple weeks ago) for Ages, and I miss it. I want biscuits and gravy, at least at this moment. I will probably change my mind before Sunday. Also this weekend I want to go to the new mall that opened in our area; I've heard it is great. It actually opened about 3 weeks ago, but I've been waiting to go until Francisco could go too. I think this might be the weekend...

Next week is the last (12th) week in my Body For Life thingy. As of today I've lost 12 pounds, which is less than I thought I would lose by now, but I've put on muscle so I'm okay with that. I plan to take a week off after next week and then do another 12 weeks; basically I'm going to do the BFL until I reach my goal, at which point I will figure out how to maintain my new skinnyness. I figure I will continue the BFL exercise and will modify the BFL meal program so that it works better with Francisco and Boy's meals, because right now that whole reconciliation of meals thing is difficult.

Last Friday night I rented Ghost World, and I so highly recommend it. I also rented The Curse of the Jade Scorpion (Woody Allen) and I don't recommend it. I like Woody Allen's movies a lot, but this one seems forced and has an unnatural cadence. Plus I don't like Helen Hunt, and she plays one of the main characters. I think Woody Allen needs to stop starring in his movies, because he's too old to be playing the character who ends up with the pretty young girl. Which is sort of ironic since he ended up with such a young girl in real life (see Catie's recent feelings on the subject). His last good film, in my opinion, was Sweet and Lowdown; he should be making more movies like that one. Woody Allen, are you listening to me?

Yesterday I didn't update because I was so busy at work. It was the big envelope-stuffing day,and today is the finish of that. I'm done with all my files but I'm sporadically helping check names off the list and other things like that. We will have probably 2 days of peace before the phone calls start; April is the cruelest month in the world of financial aid. If you're looking for a career for yourself, I beg you to look elsewhere. I got into this thinking I would be helping people and it would all be lovely, but very few people ever Feel helped--they always feel they deserve more money--so what you mostly get is lots of complaining (including crying) that you can do nothing about. Very Stressful. Also, I get a lot of paper cuts.

I'm out of things to talk about for right now. I hope all y'all are well and that things are going great. I'll write again tomorrow.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify