investment banker hair? not so sexy.

2003-01-07

What if there were no rock stars? With whom could we equate the hipness of our hairstyles? It boggles.

I have to confess--and clearly I am not proud--that I really, Really want to see 'Just Married'. I did not see 'Dude, Where's My Car', though I was tempted, so I think I deserve 'Just Married' as a reward for my restraint. I repeat; I am not proud. In other movie news, we saw Lord of the Rings while we were in Seattle, and of course it was good. I think I enjoyed the first one more, but that's okay. Legolas is one hot elf, and I'm not sure why two women are throwing themselves at Aragorn while Legolas only has the dwarf to keep him company. If I was in that fictional world, I'd be all over Legolas. True story. The dwarf not so much.

Next Issue--Joe Millionaire. Did you watch? It is just as prurient and awful as I'd hoped; I'm hooked. I have to say, though, that the guy might be physically attractive, but he has little charisma and no appeal for me, personally. I'm just enjoying watching the women in their slow-motion trainwreck. It's deliciously brutal.

While I was gone on vacation I read a couple of good books. One was a lightning-fast read; the latest Ted L. Nancy creation. I laughed so hard I had tears streaming down my face. I recommend all of those books. The other was the new Chuck Palahniuk book, "Lullaby". Really good! I wasn't so fond of his last book, "Choke", as I had been of the previous 3, but this one I liked a lot. Also recommended.

I forgot to tell earlier something I got for Christmas that I really love--it's a little wallet with 'Eva' on it and some art with a few sequins (I should scan this so you can see it--it's prettier than it sounds). My parents gave it to me and it's great because it inspired me to streamline. I have stopped carrying a purse because I realized on our vacation just how much I hate carrying a purse. In my new little wallet (which zips and contains a removable thing to hold my license and a couple credit cards and some money) I have my license and a credit card and some medical insurance info, plus my new Dr. Pepper lip balm, which I love, and a pack of those oil-sucking facial papers. This is all I need. I'm carrying it in one pocket of my coat and my keys in the other. I brought some things to work that I might want while I'm here, and I put some things in the car, so I'm set. No more purse for me. This is very liberating but I haven't given my purses to charity yet. Just in case. But, man! I HATE carrying a purse!!!

Three things about The Boy. 1) He started back to school yesterday and this semester one of his electives is French! I'm so pleased. 2) He has been busily designing our family crest, now that we will be legally a family. I'll have to include the final product on our adoption announcements. 3) We bought him a loft bed off the interweb--it will arrive in a couple of weeks. His room has been so full of crap for So long, and the loft bed should help. We had him clean out his huge toybox and we're getting rid of it--taking it to the Goodwill. It was useful while it lasted but it's been taking up too much floor space. We'll get him a cheap dresser for his toy stuff ("toy stuff" includes about a grillion plastic action figure accessories), I think. Under his new loft bed will go his large table and his chair. His aunt gave him her old computer and that can go on the table for his homework enjoyment once it arrives in the mail (we shipped it to ourselves from Seattle). It'll be like a whole new room in there, and I hope he enjoys it. When he first came to live with us we were broke, so we bought him a desk and bed from a thrift store and painted them. This was a good idea at the time and I'm not sorry we did it, but the furniture is showing a lot of wear and we're lucky enough to be able to replace the bed and get rid of the desk entirely. He never uses the desk anyway; the table will become his desk.

One last thing--subscription farming. Francisco and I recently decided to buy as much of our food as possible from local sources, and there are two subscription farms right in our area. We will probably subscribe to the one that delivers, and what that means is for a flat seasonal rate we will receive a designated amount of produce every week, for a pretty reasonable cost. We'll probably have to supplement our produce a little bit, for the sake of variety, but it will still be reasonable, and we'll be eating seasonally, which I think is good, and supporting a local farm. I'm very excited about this! Now we need to find a local dairy and a place to get eggs and we'll be all set. For cheese I think we'll stick to the Whole Foods, because how can I give up those stinky French cheeses? I can't, that's how.

I did a lame bit of step aerobics this morning before determining I really need a video tape to follow. I've forgotten some stuff, and also, MTV isn't that great to do aerobics to. I think tomorrow I'll do the yoga again; I'm almost done being sore from last time.

Going home now.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify