I have no interest in riding in your beautiful balloon, so shut up.

2002-10-31

I have once again left my diary update until the last minute, because 1) I've been cranky much of the day and cranky entries are no good, and 2) the office has been busy today. I'm leaving at 4:00 so I only have a few minutes to cover the salient points.

West Wing: Did you see it? Wow, that was truly a great episode; very satisfying. I wish I'd taped it so I could watch it again, like, Now. My favorite part was the tie-cutting; I totally didn't see that coming.

Carving Pumpkins: Waiting until the last minute greatly reduced pumpkin availability, so Boy and Francisco came home with two tiny pumpkins and one acorn squash. The squash was uncarveable, so I dealt with the pumpkin seeds while Boy and Francisco carved. The tiny pumpkins are kind of cute, actually, so I like that they were the only ones left. Plus the marauding kids won't strain their backs on them when they smash them in the night. I don't want to get sued. I'm not a huge fan of Halloween, or rather, the trick or treating, because kids who are way too old are coming to my door and just shoving their big sacks at me. I figured out a way to get my revenge on those children. Francisco bought an assortment of candy last night, including a bag of Almond Joys. We like coconut but most kids don't like coconut, so the rude children will get the Almond Joys. Once those run out, I will switch over to the dark chocolate minis (again, we like them, but most kids don't like dark chocolate). Boy has decided to trick or treat tonight, and I will make sure he observes the protocol.

Lastly, Winona Ryder: It's not that I really care about her one way or the other, but I'm puzzled about why her trial has gotten to be such a big deal, and why she let it get to this point. If she really stole that stuff on purpose (I don't know and I don't care), then what she should've done is own up to it. She could've gone on Oprah and admit it and cry and say she is a kleptomaniac and cry some more and say she needs help, and her agent's phone would be ringing off the hook. You know it's true; celebrities with problems almost always just get more popular. And if she didn't mean to steal the stuff, she should've bribed the store to drop the charges, because I imagine most people are convinced she stole it and I doubt she will be found not guilty. Cheaper to bribe the store than pay all the lawyers' fees. What a ridiculous media circus.

Ooh, one more thing: We broke the news to Boy about how he cannot sing, and it's only made him sing more gleefully, because now he knows it's another method of torture. If I have to hear him sing "Would you like to ride in my beautiful balloon" one more time I'm gonna go nuts.

I wish I could write more but I've gotta dash.

Love to everyone, and have a safe night,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify