freedom hangs like heaven over everyone

2005-10-06

Some kitchen appliances I really love lately:

1) Crockpot. Yesterday Francisco made a delicious white bean soup in the crockpot, and last week he made a kickass pot roast, the leftovers of which made a fantastic bolognese sauce the next day. Oh crockpot; how I love you. If anyone has good crockpot recipes they'd like to share with me, I'd be extremely pleased to receive them.

2) Bread machine. Along with our white bean soup last night, we had foccacia bread, the dough of which Francisco made in the bread machine. It makes me happy that we can have good bread with such little effort, or in my case, NO effort. Perfect!

3) Food processor. The third thing we ate for dinner last night was baba ganouj--Francisco roasted the eggplants on the grill the night before last, after he had finished grilling salmon burgers, so they were ready yesterday for processing. We didn't know if Sharky would like the baba ganouj, but he did--he had seconds and maybe thirds. Kid's an eating machine nowadays.

4) Hot water pot [very similar to this one]. Having hot water available at all times is something I wouldn't have thought would be handy, but oh it is. The hot water pot was given to me several years ago but it's only in the last year that we've been really using it. It's a good thing.

Another good thing (in my opinion) is the outfit I'm wearing today, consisting of my new red pants, a black top, black shoes, and accessorized with my hand-me-up Honda buckle belt, a red seed bead necklace, silver and red earrings, and a sparkly red ring. I feel like Meg White, y'all! Let's have a ball and a biscuit, sugar. Mmm...biscuits.

Oh, but another food thing, if I might: Today marks 10 months of me not eating desserts--cue the parade and the fireworks. I don't miss desserts, and if you'd told me, 10 months ago, that I would end up not missing them, I would've laughed in your face and then, in a sudden fit of rage, kicked you hard in the shin. I was mercurial that day. Anyway, giving up the desserts is one of the best things I've ever done for myself and I'd do it all over again, except I'd build a time machine so I could go back and stop eating desserts years ago.

Songs of the Day:

The Decemberists -- Human Behavior, at Hello Gina.

Truckstop Honeymoon -- Walk of Shame, at 3hive. There are 4 other Truckstop Honeymoon's songs there too, if you like Walk of Shame. I'm a sucker for the banjo.

Slut -- Only You, at Copy, Right?; scroll down to 10/3.

Last week I sent a brochure to the printer--an order of 14,500 copies. And these brochures? STINK. As in, they're smelling up the office. It's a strong paint/varnish-like smell and it's making some of us nauseous. This is a new printer we only just started using, but if all their products are going to give one the sensation of having just huffed a bunch of glue, I don't think one will be doing business with them anymore. I can practically Feel my chromosomes mutating.

Speaking of huffing things, last night when I administered Esther's steroid inhaler, she was purring the whole time. It was very sweet but weird, hearing the purring coming through the face mask and all. That cat is dynamite.

I really want 5:00 o'clock to arrive now now now so I can go home and put on pajamas and have dinner and watch Lost. We have Tivo Dennis pick it up on Wednesday nights but we wait to watch it because Sharky's bedtime is 9:30, which is right in the middle of Lost if we were going to watch it when it airs. We could push his bedtime to 10:00 on Wednesdays except he's already cranky enough at having to get up in the morning, so I don't want him missing even half an hour of sleep. It's kind of a pain to not watch Lost until Thursday night, when you work with a bunch of Lost-ites and surf the web as much as I do. I'm all the time having to dodge spoilers, but I guess if that's my biggest problem today, I'm doing pretty damn well.

Except that I'm SO. HUNGRY. Send crackers.

Love,
E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify