ape face sapped my strength

2003-01-29

Not sure what to talk about. I've felt subdued all day, and I think it's because I used too much energy on the State of the Union last night and this morning. This morning I listened to NPR on the way to work, and someone was talking about how good he thought the speech was and how glad he was that Dubya is going to revamp medicare, and yadda yadda blah blah. This got me internally riled and I've felt sort of tired since. Note to self: Stop getting riled about things you cannot change. [I'm not very good at being zen.]

I've been thinking about Chuck Palahniuk's book, Lullaby, recently when I drive, because it's about a nursery rhyme that kills whoever it's read aloud to, and the main character memorizes it (kind of by accident) and figures out (also by accident) that if he Thinks it at people, they will die instantly. There's one part where he's angry about something and he thinks it at about 6 people who do something thoughtless to irritate him, during a 5 minute period. He feels they deserved to die, for being such jerks, but when he reads their obituaries he finds out they were really good people, probably just having a bad day when they encountered him. I've been thinking about this because I've been cranky while driving lately and would've killed dozens of people with my mind if I had the power, so I need to keep reminding myself that they are probably not all assholes and fuckfaces.

Last night Boy and I played Crash Team Racing (he won--he always wins), had our pizza bagels, and settled in to watch Buffy. Only it was a rerun so Boy begged to watch American Idol, and I said okay. I'd never watched it at all before and wasn't sure what to expect, but it was pretty entertaining. If you saw it, were you just cringing during that one guy's (the "worst singer in the world") audition? Boy and I were squirming with embarrassment for him. "Make it stop, make it stop!", we begged. I'm glad they weren't all that bad, because I identify with humiliation a little too much. It was fun to watch once, but I didn't fall in love with the show or anything, and I doubt I'll watch again.

Hey, my internet friend, Ruby, is coming for dinner tomorrow night!! This is very exciting, and I'm kind of nervous to meet her, but I think it'll be really fun. Francisco is going to make my favorite vegetarian Indian meal (I'll help but he's masterminding the soup, at least), and we're going to have caipirinhas, because it is the thing to do. I bought a lot of limes; I hope we have enough.

Tonight I have to make a trip to the grocery store (for the meal ingredients--I got the limes yesterday, because hey, first things first) and I have my monthly phone date with Isabel. Then, of course, West Wing is on, and it's new, so it's an action-packed night for sure.

That's about it, I think.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify