stuffed alligator heaven

2003-01-13

We got up and did yoga this morning and it felt pretty good, except for my weak and puny wrists, which are just going to have to deal. We plan to walk at lunch and I'm looking forward to it. I want to really hit the exercise this week since I'll have to take about a week off, starting Saturday, after I get the color in my tattoo Friday evening. Too painful to exercise while healing. The yoga and impending walk inspired me to eat yogurt for breakfast (oh hell, I would've done it anyway)--one of the yogurts I got at the Whole Foods this weekend. It was purportedly black cherry but if you closed your eyes while eating it you'd swear it was placenta flavored. Healthy? Oh my, yes! But delicious? Not so much.

So this weekend Francisco and I removed approximately 11 tons of tree limbs from our backyard and took them to the dump. Okay, 11 tons is exaggerating, but it was 3 full truckloads and that was with the stuff all chopped small with a machete. The dump was crazybusy all day long with trucks coming in to leave tree parts; there was an enormous chipper/shredder running constantly while a huge clawlike machine fed load after load into it. This is all from the ice storm--people are still cleaning up. I'm happy the county is turning it into mulch instead of burning it or something dumb like that, but MAN there was a lot of wooden carnage from that storm. It's lucky North Carolina has trees like France has grapes.

I also baked some things this weekend, namely two loaves of banana bread (bananas going bad! must use!) and some biscotti. I like biscotti and it's a fairly healthy cookie, in general, unless you go adding in delicious things like chocolate. The ones I made were cornmeal hazelnut and they turned out okay, after a few panicky moments of trying to knead in more flour and having the dough stick to my fingers like plaster. Or, wait. Does plaster stick to your fingers? Let's assume yes. But they're pretty good and I ate a couple (three) last night while drinking another Whole Foods purchase--some lemon ginger tea. The tea is really good; it provides a soothing ginger burn in the back of the throat. I recommend. We've been enjoying tea after dinner most nights since getting back from Seattle, because Francisco's sister is a big after dinner tea person. Or rather she's a big after White Russian (after dinner) tea person, and she got us into the tea, as well as the White Russians, but we've given those up already. Oh but speaking of alcoholic drinks, Atomic has been talking about Lemon Drops for the longest time but we only just tried them this weekend, and WOW. The Lemon Drop is a truly fabulous alcoholic beverage and if you like lemon things you should try one as soon as possible. Recipe=1 part each lemon juice (fresh squeezed), vodka, and simple syrup. Shake, strain into a glass and garnish with a lemon twist. [To make simple syrup, combine 2 cups sugar and 1 cup water in a saucepan, and boil for 5 minutes.] I love this drink and it will surely be my drink of choice from now on, until something else catches my attention.

This morning on my drive to work I was listening to NPR and heard a guy read a funny essay about New Year's Resolutions. At the end they said his name and that he's the author of 'It Looks Like a President, Only Smaller', which I think is one of the best titles Ever. It's living in my head today and making me happy.

Okay, I wrote all the above this morning before lunch, and then Francisco and I went on our walk, through the garden that is nearby. The best thing happened: I found a small stuffed alligator. And I was wearing a big fleece shirt that had too-long sleeves, so I could carry the alligator up one sleeve with the head poking out instead of my hand, and that made me Very Very Happy. Ask Francisco, he'll tell you. I was grinning like a moron.

I guess that's it for now. Tonight I'm going home, having dinner (Francisco is cooking; he is a good cook), and watching Joe Millionaire with The Boy. What a wonderful terrible show that is. Anything else that gets done tonight is bonus.

Love,

E

PS I was thinking this morning about the diaryring that I started, the Legallyblind one, because someone else wanted to sign up this weekend. When I started it I didn't think I would deny membership to anyone, but I did end up denying one person--someone whose diary was all about cutting herself. And it wasn't a positive, "trying to grow and change and stop cutting myself" sort of diary; it was a "give me attention for doing harm to myself" diary. I didn't want to have any part of that--I felt it I approved her I would be approving the cutting. But otherwise I have approved people, so if you're legally blind and want to join, please do. You'll be in equally nearsighted company. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify