brain power all gone

2002-10-25

Last night Francisco and I attended a very odd and amusing event--Boy's Tae Kwon Do class was "testing" for belts. I think most of the kids were new to the class and just trying to get a white belt, but some were up for yellow. The class was bizarre and funny in so many ways, and I'm sure I won't be able to do it justice. First of all, the teacher was different than I'd expected. After I watched him for awhile, my head was vibrating (as Atomic says). He is one of those people who is inherently funny, without really meaning to be. His mannerisms, the words he used when talking...it all added up. I started contemplating taking Tae Kwon Do myself, but I'm not sure. I think I'd find the sparring too unnerving. Anyway, the teacher was running things but he had these two older students who were his minions--they were shadowy black clothed boys with high self-confidence and a subtle authority. One had a green belt and one had a blue belt. They helped the teacher with the testing, and then things took a Fabulous turn. The teacher had the minions pass out pieces of wood--each kid got one. They were about 10 inches square, and while the kids watched, he demonstrated how to kick the wood to make it break. One of the minions held the wood, the teacher's foot shot out, and it snapped like a graham cracker. He turned to the class and summoned a quaking child. He held the wood and the kid followed his instructions and kicked a few times, and the wood snapped. A frisson of excitement rippled through the class--maybe there was hope after all! Everyone in the class broke their wood pieces except one little girl. She was so frustrated and embarrassed she went into the bathroom to cry and then left early. Poor thing. I wish she'd stuck around, and I hope she doesn't quit. After the wood came the sparring. The kids put on padding of all kinds and the teacher matched them up to spar. It was mostly ridiculous--none of them really knew what they were doing, and one kid got kicked right in the crotch. A couple girls who sparred giggled hysterically the entire time and had me laughing along with them (I cannot resist hysterical giggling). After the kids sparred, the teacher took them on one at a time. He had a lot of control and finesse. He was kicking them in their padding and basically having fun deflecting their feeble attempts. The kids loved it--they were all grinning like maniacs when getting kicked and knocked around. It's clear they all really like the teacher. I'm glad I went, though I don't really want to go and watch every time, but I think I'll occasionally have to drop in--maybe when I'm feeling a little sad or something. Because watching this spectacle could cheer a person up, for sure.

After the Tae Kwon Do we took Boy out for sushi; it was delicious as usual and Boy tried stubbornly to crush Francisco's Sapporo can. I don't know what those mofos are made out of, but they are virtually crush-proof and Boy failed miserably. After the sushi we went home and watched Survivor. Did you see it? It was so great that Robb was unanimously voted out, especially after he got drunk and bared his soul to the group. What a thing of beauty. Wow, that reward Thai feast they got--I was Soooo jealous! Francisco used to order the pineapple rice almost every time we went to Thai food, when we lived in Pasadena. That stuff is Good! Lucky bastards.

On Tuesday night I got a phone call from some market research firm, asking people in my age group to watch a 1/2 hour comedy show (on a videotape they will mail) on November 3rd, and then they will call back on 11/4 to ask some questions. I said they should count me in, because if there's one thing I hate, it's 1/2 hour comedy shows (there are some exceptions), and if there's one thing I Love it's giving my opinion. So the lady took down my name and address and she had me laughing helplessly because apparently she was forced to spell back the info I gave her AND use the military letter names. We have a long address, letter-wise, and the poor thing had to military letter spell it back. When she was done and I stopped laughing I said she must want to kill herself, and I heard her snicker a little. Probably her call was being monitored. So they'll send me a tape and I will robotically watch it on November 3rd, and I will be honest in my assessment. Man, I really hope that tv show sucks--that would be so great. It would allow me to roll out my scathing critic persona.

No big weekend plans here. Tonight we will watch The Buena Vista Social Club, a netflick we've had for over a week because we haven't been in the mood for it. Tonight's finally the night--we're going to make a semi-Cuban meal to watch it with. This weekend we will do normal weekend chores, and that's about it, but that's the kind of weekend I like, because it allows for spontaneity. I will do some reading, for sure, and maybe I can finish up the back of my sweater. I should make that a goal.

I was going to write more but I've been seeing one walk-in after another today, and I gots no more to give. Have a good weekend,

Eva |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify