be afraid Ms. _____; be very afraid

2002-04-19

Okay. Survivor last night? Kicked. Ass. When John got voted off it was one of the best moments in Survivor history, because everything changed, and I love that it changed. Those 4 were so confident, so arrogant as they chopped the others' coconuts down, and look where it got them. May I just say, HA-ha! Boy had said, "If John gets voted off, I bet he'll cry", so that when he Did cry, we laughed extra hard. It's not nice, laughing at a crying person, but it was funny--if you saw it you'll know what I'm saying. I can't think of anyone else who cried on Survivor after getting voted off. Am I missing someone? Anyway, I love this Survivor even more now, because it's very possible someone I actually like will win this time, and up until now it didn't seem like that would happen. I have new hope.

Tonight Boy is having Tony over to play, see a movie, and spend the night. Francisco had the best idea ever--he said we could feed the boys, take them to the theatre at the new mall, and drop them off for their movie. We could then have dinner at the mall, just us, and do a little window shopping before we have to go back and get the boys. I love this plan! There is an Asian noodle restaurant there I would like to try, and it's two hours with my best friend, alone. We don't get that so often anymore.

Otherwise this weekend, the yard still needs work, but it's supposed to rain. If it's only a light rain we can work anyway. If it thunderstorms, that will put the kibosh on the yardwork.

Remember how pissed I was a couple weeks ago, when I was dissed by the Estee Lauder woman? I have finally written my letter and will mail it tomorrow morning. Wanna read it? I think it's pretty good. Names have been omitted to protect me from being sued for defamation, though I'd like to see them build a case.

----------------------------

April 19, 2002

General Manager

Hecht's

Durham, NC

Dear Sir or Madam,

I was a customer in your store on Saturday, April 6, and I am writing to tell you the very rude way I was treated by one of your Estee Lauder saleswomen. My husband and I arrived at the store shortly after 2 p.m., and we approached the Estee Lauder counter with the hopes of finding a particular product as a gift for my husband's sister. When we did not see the product in question (cologne called 'Honeysuckle Splash'), we decided to ask someone if it was available for purchase.

There were two saleswomen at the counter, and one other customer. One of the saleswomen was helping the customer with cosmetics, and the other appeared to be looking through the lipsticks to find more colors for the customer to try. This saleswoman's name was _____ ____. I stood near Ms. _____ for a minute, waiting for a good time to ask my question, but she seemed very absorbed in the lipsticks. I decided to ask her anyway, in hopes that she could answer my question without too much inconvenience.

I began with "Excuse me, can I ask you a question while you do that?", and I got no further before Ms. _____ turned her head and gave me a look of such contempt that I was taken aback. Puzzled, I continued on to ask if they still carried the Honeysuckle Splash. Ms. _____'s contemptuous look did not waver, and when I finished speaking she turned back to the lipsticks and did something that astonished me further. In the same type of singsong voice usually used when speaking to a small child, she informed me that they no longer carry the Honeysuckle Splash. She managed to inject at least two "sweetie"s and one "pumpkin" into her answer, and once she had imparted this information, she continued her work on the lipsticks.

I walked away, stunned by her rudeness. My husband, behind me, said, "Did I just imagine that? Why did she act like that?" I was at a loss to answer him. The rudeness Ms. _____ exhibited is the kind of rudeness endemic to the cowardly. This kind of rudeness is used by people who wish to be able to later claim that they were misunderstood; that it isn't their fault if someone misinterpreted them. I do not believe my husband and I misinterpreted Ms. _____'s behavior and intentions. She clearly wished to denigrate and humiliate me; for what purpose I do not know.

Perhaps Ms. _____ thought that I had been intentionally rude to her by interrupting while she was working with the lipsticks, but even if that is the case, it does not excuse the way she acted. I am 34 years old and I do not appreciate being treated like a 4 year-old child. Possibly Ms. _____ took in the casual way I was dressed (in blue jeans, sneakers, and a casual shirt) and concluded that my financial situation would not allow me to purchase anything large enough to make politeness to me worthwhile. If that was her assumption, Ms. _____ made a gross miscalculation. I have purchased many Estee Lauder products in the past and will continue to do so in the future. However, because of the treatment I received on April 6, my future Estee Lauder purchases will not take place at the _________ Hecht's. There are many department stores in the area that carry Estee Lauder, and specifically the stores at __________ will more than adequately supply my needs. You may want to remind your employees that customers now have that option.

Sincerely,

Tattoobelly

------------------------

Just so you know, I exaggerated when speaking of the number of Estee Lauder products I have bought and will buy in the future, but I figure it's a better letter this way. Let them eat their livers thinking that my millions of dollars will be funneled elsewhere. Bahahahaha! My millions of dollars...that's a good one.

Lunch hour over--must go.

Have a great weekend!!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify