Frontier House = Good : I feel an obsession coming on

2002-04-30

Did anyone watch Frontier House last night on PBS? That show pulled me and Francisco in and kept us up until 11:00 (which is late for us during the week), and it was totally worth it. If you didn't watch and haven't heard about it, the quick skinny is it's reality tv about 3 families who signed up to be actual homesteaders for, I think, 4 months. Last night I saw the first 2 episodes, and I don't know if more were shown after I turned off the tv. I can tell you that both the main families (the third family is currently a only a father and son, but the son's fiance is arriving in a future episode and they will get married at the homestead) are annoying in different ways, but the main entertainment is the rich family from Beverly Hills. They bitch about EVerything and they are clearly so overprivileged and pampered that every little inconvenience is a huge deal. Their teenage girls are particularly amusing, because their drama is so over the top. One of them was weeping theatrically last night when she had to milk their cow in the snow, and Francisco and I were howling at her weeping, without a shred of guilt. She was clearly feeling So Sorry For Herself, and I'm sure she was cold and miserable, but that didn't keep me from chortling at her expense. I think this might become one of my more favorite shows, because it's reality tv with a good gimmick. Many's the time I've wished for Real World Dairy Farm--I want to see 7 strangers perservering amid terrible discomfort and backbreaking labor. Frontier House has all that and more. I recommend.

Other than that, not a lot to talk about. Busy day today with yet another interview. This person I like, and hopefully we can get her hired because the person we need to replace had her last day today.

Last night I decided to make a t-shirt with the Hanson Brothers on it. It will be beautiful and I will post a picture of it when I'm done. In the meantime, you can enjoy them here. Seriously, you've gotta see this movie.

That's all for today. I hope everyone is well and that the cramps go away soon.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify