passport? check. ticket? check. mental outlook? buh?

2002-06-05

Holy shit, I'm flying to a whole other continent tomorrow! It's really hard to fully comprehend that right now. I'm ready to go in that I got all my work done (had to go to work at 6 this morning so that I could finish it all up) and that I'm packed except for last minute items, but mentally? Not ready. I guess I'll be ready when I get there. Did I tell you we're staying on a boat hotel in Amsterdam (Amstel Botel)? I hope the room has a terrace or something like a terrace; I'd really like to sit out there on Friday night. We're getting to Amsterdam at 6 am Friday morning, so we'll be tired but we're going to try and sleep on the plane and then stay up until a normal bedtime Friday night. It is the good advice of everyone.

Oh! I got my new glasses! People, they are worth Every Penny the place extorted from me. The lenses? So. Much. Thinner. They almost look like normal glasses even. The frames are a fairly nondescript small oval shape, but they're stainless steel or something like that so they're a little funk-ay. Eva likey. I'm even choosing to wear them on the whole plane trip tomorrow, because now I own glasses that are a viable option to contact lenses, and they will be better in the dry air of the plane. Plus I can sleep in them, which I can't in my contact lenses and even if I could I wouldn't because that creeps me out. But I digress. I swear, when the lady first showed the glasses to me, I got a little verklempt. I managed to head weeping off at the pass, but only just barely. I'm battling pms and stress in equal doses, and that makes for too much emotion. I'll get over it.

My parents flew into town on Sunday night and it's great to see them. The cats are clearly only tolerating them at this point, but once they see that my mom is the food source in my absence, I'm guessing they'll warm up.

We attended Boy's 5th grade graduation with my parents on Monday night, and it was a little torturous. There were 4 classes and each classroom had to put on a musical number. Enough said. No wait--one more thing. I figured out how the children in Boy's class were selected; they are all woefully tone-deaf. Okay, that's enough. After the graduation we went out for ice cream and gave Boy the little gifts we'd purchased and he was the King.

The past several days have been sort of a blur, so I sort of can't remember anything I wanted to write in here, other than that things are going according to plan.

I did anger a man yesterday, in case you were wondering. I got gas in the truck and paid at the pump with a credit card, as is my way at gas stations, and my receipt printed but it got stuck and wouldn't come out. I tried to get it out and failed, so I went into the store part of the station to seek help. The man working there was singularly unhelpful. I asked him if he could advance the receipt printing thing at the pump to get my receipt out and he said no but he would print me another one. I said that wasn't really what I wanted; that since the receipt stuck in the machine had all my visa information on it, I wanted it out of the machine. He said he would watch that pump and run out when the next customer printed a receipt and get mine back. Sweetly I said Nooooo, I would rather get it back now. He got cranky and told me he was very responsible, and I said I'm sure he is but I want my receipt. Because I'm thinking he might have the best intention of runnng out for my receipt, but if he had 10 people in line to buy Yoo Hoo at the time, he'd let my receipt go. I ended up getting the receipt out myself, by contorting my finger around in the machine until I was able to drag it out, but I'll tell you. I'm not exactly making friends wherever I go.

I wish I had time to write more, because a lot has happened in the past several days, but since most of it has been at about the same caliber as the above paragraph, it's not too much of a loss. We're going to get up early tomorrow morning so I need to go to bed very soon. You know what I've missed in the past few days? Diaryland. Specifically all my favorites, because I haven't had time to read diaries really at all. By the time I'm back in town and able to read them, I'll have a lot of catching up to do.

Dear Favorites,

Hey Babe! I'll be back to pick you up later!

Love,

Tattoobelly

If you've never seen that old commercial for Mr. Microphone, you surely think I'm a total dork right about now. You are very perceptive.

So okay, I guess that's about it. Talk to you later.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify