soft as rose petals?

2001-10-18

How do you suppose the softness of lips was described before the invention of velvet? Soft as a horse's muzzle? I read a romantic story today in which lips were described in terms of velvet, and I started wondering about the pre-velvet days.

I had a pretty good day yesterday. Boy's eye appointment took about an hour and a half, and left him with a terrible disappointment that he didn't need new glasses. He dislikes his current frames and we told him he could get new frames if his prescription had changed. He also wanted blue-tinted lenses but that was kiboshed straight away. Anyway, no new glasses for now, but I rescued him from depression by taking him out to lunch, complete with the sharing of chocolate-chip cheesecake. He was much perkier after that. We went to a few stores afterward, just kind of window shopping, and at one point I noticed him fidgeting pretty agressively. I assumed he had to go to the bathroom, which did turn out to be the case, but when I asked him why he was fidgeting, he said [rather loudly I must say], "Oh, I Always fidget when I'm about to steal something." Wasn't that quick of him? I gave him a 10, though I should have knocked off points for him saying it so close to the sales lady.

Also yesterday I got to do Andrew's PT Cruiser ZZTop arm gesture, and it was very satisfying, though probably confusing to the PT Cruiser driver. Boy did the arm too; he is very well trained.

I have to be running off again--sorry for the short update. Francisco is making risotto for dinner and I don't want to be late, and also I want to call my mom tonight because it's her birthday. Happy Birthday, Mom! Plus, you know, it's Survivor night, which absolutely enSUres a long update tomorrow. And you know how I've been griping about how far behind I am at work? The stuff I did today goes a very long way toward catching me up, so I'm on the cusp of being able to do some major goofing off, and that means longer updates. I can hardly wait...

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify