Entry so choppy

2001-10-15

There we were last night, the four of us, attempting to sleep. Lucy was on my pillow, her head butted up against mine, and she was purring. Esther was under the covers on my right side with her face tucked into my thigh. She was purring. All was tranquility. Francisco moved his foot and it touched mine. A couple minutes passed. Then, out of the darkness, he murmured, "My toe to your toe. My thoughts to your thoughts." We snickered for awhile. I love that he's a secret Star Trek geek.

I had a pretty good weekend. Friday night we went out for Indian food and rented a couple of movies. We rented Dish and a documentary about Burning Man. I enjoyed both of them but Francisco thought Dish was too slow. Boy also didn't care for Dish but he watched it with me anyway. Boy did not view the Burning Man documentary--it was not appropriate for children. I really really really want to go to Burning Man.

Saturday we went to the gym and true to my word I really worked the old muscles. My arms and chest are still sore, in fact, but it's a good sore. Saturday we also went to Costco and got a few things we needed, and then I watched some M*A*S*H while Francisco worked on school things and Boy played. I did laundry and vacuuming and stuff like that. Sunday we went out for breakfast and I had biscuits and gravy and it was decadent and yummy. After breakfast we went to the craft store (more marbles because the ones I bought before were too small, and yarn because I'm going to knit a scarf) and to the bookstore for a few things. Then home, where Boy played ll day long, through rain and shine. I turned on the television and saw that Auntie Mame was going to be on in just a few minutes, so I set up the vcr and recorded it, and now I have it for posterity. If you've never seen that movie, I exhort you to rent it, because it is Really Really good. After Auntie Mame I went to the library and then to the Walmart to pick up a few things. I was listening to NPR and I ended up sitting in the car in the Walmart parking lot for a really long time, listening to This American Life. Holy crap.

The topic of the show was Christians and Non-Christians, and communication between them. A Jewish woman was doing what seemed like an ethnography with a group of people in Colorado Springs, and she was at first quite befuddled by them. As they began to pressure her more and more to become a Christian, I started to get more and more creeped out. The tactics they were using were so clearly brainwashing tactics that it was making my skin crawl. Fortunately she continued to resist them, no matter how many times they told her she was going to hell.

When I got home I called my Seattle friend, Diana, to ask her if she'd heard the show, but she wasn't home. She called me back later and we discussed it and she found it as creepy as I did, if not more. She and I used to both be Christians, see, so we find it comforting to talk about these things. What we both found so odd is that, even though we used to be part of that religion, neither of us could even slightly relate to the Christians in the story. It was as if we had never had any ties to them at all. It's a good thing, but it's weird.

We talked about lots of other things, and did a good bit of laughing. She told me how she doesn't know what she Really looks like, because her mirror at home isn't like the mirror at work and neither is like department store mirrors, and so basically she's not sure what she Truly looks like. I think this is true for everyone--no one can be 100% sure what they look like, because all mirrors are different. It made me think about how there is a nuclear clock (or a few) somewhere, keeping track of what time it Really is, so somewhere there should be a nuclear mirror that will tell you what you Really look like. Don'tcha think?

I'm feeling rather stilted today; I can't seem to make this entry come out the way I want it, so I think I'll give it up for now. I had a weird morning--my computer had had virus-infected files on it (they were infected through the employer's network), and though my computer itself did not become infected (because I did not open the files) it took a long time for someone to come over and do whatever needed to be done to fix things. I have a lot to do this afternoon, so I better get to it.

With love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify