my songwriting debut

2001-10-12

You Know how much I was looking forward to Survivor last night. You Know how I was planning to make cookies (which I did--chocolate chip) and make it an event. Well, imagine my chagrin and disappointment when instead of Survivor I had to see Dubya and listen to him mouthing platitudes and saying things I had already heard from various media sources. It was Such a huge letdown, and I'll bet his approval rating plummeted at precisely 8:00 pm yesterday. Do you know, I think the whole purpose of him making his speech last night was to kiss our asses and try to make us shop. I have heard that our nation's economists are very worried because people are just not spending as much money as previously, and Dubya specifically mentioned that we need to get out, go shopping. I'll tell you what, I'm not in the mood to shop. The only things I want to buy recently are things for my house, and even those aren't high priority lately. I am not going to spend money I need for other things just to boost the economy, that's for sure. And if I have to listen to Dubya pronouncing terror (tehruh) and American (murkin) one more time, I'm going to go out of my mind. Also, and this is my last pissy statement, can I just say that I'm tired of his overuse of "the American people"? Couldn't he just say "Americans"? Or is he afraid that saying "Americans" would include such things as dogs and diaper-wearing chimps? Because he seems to really Need to add "people" to "American". It's a small thing, but it's really bugging me.

We did end up watching Survivor, after the ridiculous Dubya speech, and it was pretty entertaining, but I was tired and I didn't want to stay up that late. We let Boy stay up for it too, and he seemed okay this morning, but I imagine he'll be tireder than usual tonight. My thoughts on Survivor: That whole can of beans thing was So reminiscent of the beef jerky episode from S2. And one of those two, Clarence and Diane, lied about it, but how to tell who? Clarence Definitely took an extra cherry when they passed the cherry can--the camera caught that--so that kind of makes you wonder about the beans, but who knows. Also, what was the tribe who dumped some of their water at the beginning Thinking? Hello, you're in a desert! Keep the water, idiots! I was thinking, while watching last night, about how bitchy and mean-spirited everyone seemed, and then I remembered how I said the exact same thing after the first episode of S2, so maybe everyone is just extra bitchy during the first couple of days. I know I would be; I don't think I could take that environment. It seems tougher than S1 or S2, and can you imagine how horrible they'll all smell in a day or two, if they don't already? There are no bodies of water for them to loll around in; they are going to Stink. I enjoyed the show, but I think it'll be more interesting once I can remember everyone's names and start to tell those homogenous women apart. Aside from Diane (who got kicked out anyway) with the poodle hair, and the gorgeous sheriff lady, they all look alike to me. Oh, and those women are all so skinny now, they'll be positively Cadaverous if they last more than a week or two. I can hardly wait...

I found confirmation that the silly email from yesterday is Definitely a hoax. I was pretty sure it was a hoax, and The Urban Legend site says it is, and has a little info. I only wish I had checked there before bothering to try and call/email the originator of the email. Stupid, stupid! You live, you learn, you pass it on.

I keep getting people finding my diary through Google searches for "Bodybuilders in heat". Like, constantly. What does that even mean?! Bodybuilders in heat? It's a mystery.

You know, I am willing to bet that cats are among the world's most serenaded animals. I find myself making up little songs to my cats just about every day. I think it entertains me the way it does because of their lack of facial response. I can sing them little songs and they just look at me with that seemingly uncomprehending face, and that makes it funnier. Here is a song I made up for Esther, who likes to lay above my head on my pillow at night. Francisco observed that she looks a little like a hat, and that is when I made up this song. It is sung to the tune of that Disney ad song, Be Our Guest (which may be a ripoff of an older actual song, but I don't know), and it goes a little something like this: [ahem]

Beee myyy Hat! Be my hat,

Be my millinery cat.

Be my chapeau,

It's a snap-oh,

Your soft flab will

Be my cap-oh.

Be my beret!

In St. Tropei,

We should just go out and play,

Be my hat, be my hat,

Be my Haaaat!

Genius, no? I have songs for Lucy too, but none of them has ever really stuck in my head for more than the few minutes I was singing them, so I can't really write those down. I Do sing the I Love Lucy theme to her, or at least the words I know, which aren't many. After I sing the ones I know I start making up others, according to mood.

Do you have cats, and if yes, do you sing songs to them? Mi guestbook es su guestbook...

I'm having some bad dreams lately. I've been waking up at about 3 am and worrying about terrorism. Stupid worries, really, but it doesn't help at 3 am to remember that they are stupid worries. And then when I finally go back to sleep I dream about terrorism. This morning I dreamt that Francisco, the Boy, and I needed to flee our house, and we couldn't take the cats, and for some reason I was really insistent that we all have a towel (Hitchhiker's Guide reference, maybe?), and the whole dream was just fraught with sadness and anxiety and fear and Yuck! Overall the dreams aren't Really bad, but they are unpleasant, and hopefully they'll stop soon.

I'm so happy to be having a weekend right now; this week at work has sucked. Our only plans right now are that Francisco and Boy are running a mile charity race on Sunday afternoon, but maybe I can persuade Francisco that breakfast out on Sunday would be a good thing. I don't think it would take much persuading. I'll do the gym tomorrow morning and really work the old muscles, and I'll do the normal weekend laundry stuff, and that's about it.

I hope you have a great weekend, and be safe.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify