the serious and the trivial

2001-10-08

This bombing thing has me so conflicted. On the one hand, I Really Hate that innocent people in Afghanistan are going to die. I have previously stated this and it's not like anyone Wants innocent people to die, so my statement is not exactly ground-breaking. Now that this thing has actually begun, I have started to feel that probably something along these lines is a necessary eventuality, because there is no way Bin Laden is going to stop his organization's terrorism against the U.S. voluntarily. He is not going to wake up someday and say, "Gosh, you know, the U.S. isn't so bad after all. Let's apologize to them and start concentrating on positive courses of action instead of all this negative terrorism." If we don't try to stop him, there will be other terrorism, and I, for one, don't want the U.S. to be Al Qaeda's bitch. The Taliban will not hand Bin Laden over, because he gives them money and resources. The Taliban is starving and oppressing the people of Afghanistan. I know that bombing Afghanistan will make some people hate us who didn't hate us previously and I know that the people who already hated us will hate us more. I know there is a 99% chance that there will be more terrorism against our country in the next few days, and I'm scared of that. I don't want anyone else here to die and I don't want poor Afghani people to die, but how can we resolve this without making a military attempt to capture Osama Bin Laden? We're in a "damned if you do, damned if you don't" position, and I'm at a loss to figure out what other options we have if we want a future that is relatively terrorist-free. I will say that dropping food into Afghanistan is a great move on our part. I realize we have ulterior motives for doing so, but I'm glad it was done. Hopefully most of the food will get to the people who need it.

Here are some things I did this weekend:

Went to Boy's Fall Fester. It was a madhouse and Boy won a cake in the Cakewalk. It was chocolate and shaped like a bat. Mmm...bat...

Did laundry, and lots of it.

Played hookey from the gym on Saturday morning and dusted the house instead. It really needed it.

Traded in our summer bedding for winter bedding, and not a moment too soon. It's quite cold today--I had to scrape ice off my windshield this morning.

Watched Francisco drink water out of a beer bottle all weekend. He loves that; it makes him feel so decadent.

Shopped. Bought new towels, a mat for the back door, some cat food, some potstickers, and 5 cans of anchovies. Also purchased blank vcr tapes, a rubbermaid cake holder, and other small things.

Saw Zoolander; it was very funny.

Went out to breakfast on Sunday morning. Had 2 eggs over easy, home fries, rye toast, bacon, and 4 cups of coffee. Did some of Will Shortt's word puzzles while waiting for food, and that was very entertaining.

Watched a lot of news.

This morning our new employee started and we had a potluck breakfast for him. I brought a honeydew melon, but the best thing was bacon (I guess this belongs in the 'duh' category). I took an early lunch hour today and got my hair cut. It looks much better. I'm going to have Francisco dye it red this week, because red is such a nice Fall color.

I guess that's all I have to update about, and I feel guilty even mentioning these trivial things with everything that's going on. Everyone please exercise caution in public places, and take good care of yourselves. I don't know what else to say, but I'm worried about you.

Sending love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify