tattoo facilitator

2001-10-02

So, the weekend. Friday night Boy had a friend over, and Francisco earned my eternal gratitude by taking the boys ice skating. They were gone for more than two hours, and it's rare I get that much time at home alone. I loved it. Saturday morning I took Boy to Aikido (it's at my gym) and walked on the Bait and Switch treadmill for an hour while he kicked and blocked and rolled on the floor with his class. Afterwards we went to the grocery store and got ingredients for the day's project: A Cake.

I don't know if you've made cakes from scratch--I didn't until we got the KitchenAid--but they can be quite a production. Exact measurement is very important, as is sifting the flour when the recipe says to sift it. It's like chemistry class. It took me over an hour and a half to make the cake and clean up, and then another hour to fiddle with the baked cake and make the icing and assemble the thing. The reason I made it was to take it to a potluck at one of Francisco's professor's on Saturday evening, and I was finished just in time. And can I say, that cake kicked ass. It was really really great, and I feel it was worth the all the hassle, particular since it made us look like expert bakers. The potluck was fun, and even Boy had a good time, since there were other kids there and a big trampoline.

On Sunday we did a little shopping and I did a lot of cleaning and laundry. Very little to report about Sunday, actually.

What I Have Eaten Today, by Tattobelly

one Eggo waffle with peanut butter (enough PB to fill in the crevices)

a glut of peeled carrots

a Powerbar (vanilla)

one iced mocha

See, here's the thing: I have come to the inescapable conclusion that if I want to get to my goal weight and maintain it, I will have to be hungry. Not just before I get to my goal, but really for the rest of my life (with exceptions for special occasion-type things). Because the thing is, I'm always hungry and my instinct has been to silence the hunger with food, but that hasn't worked out so well for me--just ask my fat ass. I wasn't always constantly hungry; the Synthroid I take has really ramped up the old appetite, and because I have to keep taking that, I figure I will continue to be very hungry. Since that will be the case, I need to learn how to cope with being hungry all the time, and that is what I'm working on. I'm okay with this solution and I'm trying to mentally turn the growly-stomach feeling into a good or neutral thing instead of an uncomfortable thing, and I think I'm making progress on that. My weight-loss strategy used to be to count calories and attempt to get full by eating as much low-cal stuff as I could, up to the calorie limit. Of course it did not work, because there is no way to fill up on lettuce, and I would get discouraged, especially when PMS turned my hunger up to 11. My new strategy is to just be hungry and cope, and I'm liking it--it's realistic. This month I am totally going to conquer PMS; I'm going to leave it whimpering, bruised, and bleeding internally. You'll see.

I forgot to tell you the embarrassing things my boss said yesterday; it was really a banner day for his political-incorrectness. Someone mentioned at lunch that a couple of people drowned in a nearby lake over the weekend because their canoe tipped over and they couldn't swim. Actually one of them could swim and he rescued the child that was with the group, but he wasn't a strong enough swimmer to go back for the others. He wanted to call 911 but he could only speak Spanish and he was unaware that 911 has Spanish-speaking operators. Instead of calling 911 he drove to a nearby town and found some guy who could speak Spanish and English and that guy called 911, but by then it was too late. My boss listened to this story and then proclaimed that he's always felt that if he's in France (for instance) he would need to learn enough French to get around; he wouldn't expect other people to speak English to him. (Basically to say that that guy should've learned English and also that we shouldn't have to have Spanish-speaking 911 operators) Is it just me or is that incredibly insensitive and not a little racist? I was pissed. I wanted to say, "Yeah, those drowned people got what they deserved for not learning English!", but I didn't want to start a fight in front of the guy we were there to interview. The boss made sexist comments at lunch and later in the day, and he made comments about short men having Napolean complexes. I believe he also spoke badly about Middle Eastern people, in relation to the whole terrorism thing. If he kicked some cats after he got home and burned a cross into the lawn of a Jewish family, that would've rounded his day out nicely.

I bought a tattoo magazine yesterday and it's making me want another one soon. One of my coworkers keeps saying she wants one but she has never done anything about it. I told her that next week (she's out the rest of this week) she and I are going to use our lunch hours on a day or two to visit local tattoo studios. I don't know when I'll get my next tattoo, but I will need to find a new artist since mine has disappeared, and if I can facilitate my coworker getting the tattoo she wants anyway, then so much the better.

And....I'm outta here. More tomorrow, and hopefully it will be more interesting.

Lovelove,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify