the pants quest fizzled

2001-09-27

Last night I happened to turn on MTV at the moment the lastest Michael Jackson video was starting, and I have something to say. That something is Holy Crap! It's been quite a long time since I've laid eyes on Michael Jackson, and I was totally unaware that he is, if you pardon me saying so, such a freak. It is obvious he's had a lot of work done, but his face doesn't even look like a normal face. Francisco said he looks like a burn victim who has had extensive reconstruction. I don't really Care what he looks like, because it's certainly none of my business, but I feel kind of sad that he'd want to get all that work done. I think he looked much more attractive before all the surgery, and for him to get so many changes to his face, he must not have a lot of confidence in himself. Have you SEEN Michael Jackson recently? Because if not, you'd be shocked.

Another music-related thing I wanted to say is that I really like that song John Mellencamp and India Arie have out (or at least I've seen the video for it), titled (I think) 'Peaceful World'. I saw the video this morning and the song is stuck in my head today. Has anyone else seen that video or heard the song? Because it's Good.

Yesterday my boss (you know the one) made a proclamation. Some of us were talking about diets and the effort one must make to stick to a diet, long term--the gist being that it can be difficult. My boss kind of took a sturdy stance, with hands on hips, and proclaimed, "It's all a matter of self-control!" Wow, bossman--self-control, you say? I never would have thought of that! [hits head with hand] Thank god you broke it down for us, because we women can't think too hard or our heads might explode! I can always count on him for the grade school answer. Of Course it's a matter of self-control, but there are So many underlying issues and behaviors that must be considered and dealt with. Please; my boss has never been overweight in his life. If he's needed to lose a few pounds he just needs to, say, eliminate foods with the letter Q in them and he'll have lost the weight in a week. He has strong opinions on things of which he has no firsthand knowledge, and he Loves to express them. Can you tell it's hard for me to work for him?

I tried to buy pants today, but no dice. First of all, pants don't seem to ever fit me right. If they fit in the waist, they're too small in the hips, and if they fit in the hips, they billow around my waist. Also, one would think people my size are very tall, because pants are always too long. I'm 5'5"; isn't that a pretty average height? Even when there is a choice of Tall, Average, or Petite, Average is too long. I think I'll give up on buying pants for awhile and just quadruple my weight-loss efforts so that the pants I have will fit. That seems sage, no?

I knew it had to happen sooner or later; I'm going into a crafty phase. I now have tons of projects simmering on my brain's back burner. I would list them out for you but you'd be bored. Rest assured, though, that none of my projects involve fake flowers or sequins or a beadazzler, and none of them are 'country accents'. There is nothing inherently wrong with country accents, mind you, but they are not my style. The thing I'm most excited about is making marble magnets. You've probably seen them in stores, as I have, in a set of 8 or 10 for $16, but you can make them with those marbles that are flat on one side, some small pictures, thick magnets, and silicon gel adhesive. If anyone wants to make them, I will give you a great site that has instructions. I'm going to make a glut of them as stocking stuffers.

Francisco, bless his heart, went grocery shopping today. This is notable because we haven't been to the store for awhile and our cupboards were bare. Yay, I can have waffles for breakfast again! I can munch baby carrots for snacks! It's all very exciting, let me tell you.

I had my phone date with my friend Isabel last night, and it was a lot of fun. I recently mailed her a photocopy of the picture Francisco participated in at the naked 5k. Isabel and her spouse have told some of their friends about Francisco's naked race, and the friends were quite interested in the whole thing, so they will probably enjoy seeing the evidence.

Gotta be going now, but talk to you tomorrow.

Love and kisses,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify