feeling a little disliked

2001-09-25

Hmm. Overnight two people dumped me from their list of favorites, which I guess shouldn't bother me, but does. I'm only human; I want to be liked. I know someone signed my guestbook last night (perhaps saying, "You suck, I don't like you anymore"), but I haven't been able to get into SignMyGuestbook.com to read the entry, so no clues there. Oh well, no point in obsessing about it I guess.

Last night Francisco made potstickers and stir-fried broccoli with garlic sauce, and it was Yummy. He went out to meet his friend, Steve, for beer and conversation, but first we watched the Daily Show, which I guess was rerun from Friday night. It was very touching--it was the first show they taped since the WTC terrorism, and Jon Stewart spoke about that and he cried a little, and it seemed unrehearsed and very true and real. Seeing men weep always makes me emotional; I guess because men cry so seldom. I love Jon Stewart.

Last night I also watched a show on TLC called, I think, Maternity Ward. It was gruesome. I didn't see the beginning or end of the show so I don't know where the hospital was and I don't know what became of the people whose stories they showed, but I was very very disturbed by the fact that several of the women they showed (who were in labor) were at that very moment addicted to drugs. Maybe that's why the show featured those women particularly, but I find it enraging that women who are using drugs would not stop immediately upon finding out they're pregnant. The fact that they would use drugs for the whole nine months and give birth to an addicted baby makes me want to be violent. One woman was fighting the nurses because they were trying to put in an internal monitor. The baby's heartrate had dropped alarmingly, so they felt the internal monitor was necessary, and they told the woman that her baby was having trouble, and she snapped, "No it's not, it's Fine!" She was coming off a cocaine high and was crying and thrashing around, and she had no intention of keeping her baby, which is good for the baby's sake but what kind of health/development problems will that baby have due to the mother's cocaine use? Sometimes I wish there was a way to keep people from having babies when they clearly won't be good parents. Bad parents cause so much misery, you know? I'm not talking about my parents, by the way--my parents were not bad parents--but I know people whose parents have really wrecked their lives. It's very sad.

[steps down from soapbox]

I need to cut this short today. I have to feed my work birds (fill up the window feeder) and call someone back and get gas in the truck before I go home. Since it is after 5 already, I will have to save my other rants and raves for tomorrow.

I hope you're all well and happy.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify