Mommy, what are those turtles doing?

2001-09-18

I stayed up too late last night watching the X-Files on FX and painting my fingernails red, white, and blue. From a distance they look pretty good, but they do not benefit from close examination. I was home yesterday due to Boy's school having a teacher workday. I never remember those workdays until the day before or so, and that held true for yesterday's workday as well. Fortunately I had made a dental appt for Boy for yesterday afternoon (a cleaning) so he didn't have to miss any school for it, but I hate taking him to the dentist. The dentist seems to be under the impression that I am the worst parent ever, based upon the fact that Boy's teeth always need beaucoup scraping and that they are very purple after they make him chew the purple dye pills. Honestly, since I came into the parenting thing late (when he was 7, as opposed to freshly born) I am unsure about things like this. Do other parents of 10 year olds assume a Tooth Gestapo persona and check their child's teeth every day? Because I have enough to think about already without being the Tooth Police. I have decreed that he has to brush better, and he will floss every day. He is not pleased, but is resigned. The dentist's office had throw pillows that were turtles, and I put two of them into a compromising position. How could I be expected to resist such temptation? The adults are the only ones who will notice anyway.

I planted things this weekend. I planted pansies--purple ones and yellow ones--a lenten rose, and some other flowering plants whose name is escaping me right now. As predicted, it was a comforting activity. Before we bought the plants on Saturday, we went out to lunch at the area's only Vietnamese restaurant. It was Boy's first Vietnamese food, and he liked it. I had the lemongrass tofu with rice noodles, which is my favorite thing, and it did not disappoint.

What Did disappoint is waking up Sunday morning to find that someone had spray painted on our truck. It is a Dodge, and they put yellow spray paint on the tailgate, to fill in the O in Dodge. We managed to remove almost all of it, but it pisses me off that people do that kind of shit. I hate to sound like an old curmudgeon, but I suspect teenagers.

We watched Iron Chef on Saturday night, and it was different from the regular Iron Chefs. It was showing Sakai and Chen in a couple of their early battles, and for each, they showed Kaga unveiling the ingredient and saying, "Allez Cuisine!" (or really allay kizeem--which is how he says that). The reason I'm telling you this is because I was astounded at how much more cheesy he was in the earlier episodes. He's Totally phoning it in now, and I would never have known if I hadn't seen those early episodes.

Francisco's grandma is flying in tomorrow. I was Sure she wouldn't get on a plane after what happened, but as it turns out, she is hardier than expected. She is also a gruesome hag, because one reason she wants to come out is because she thinks her daughter will take her to NY to see the rubble of the Trade Center. She says she "just wants to see where it was". Francisco's mom has no intention of taking her there, even if it were possible (which of course it is not), so grandma will be disappointed in her anticipated rubbernecking activity. Thursday has been set as the day she comes over for dinner and takes her teeth out, and I will definitely have something to say about That.

I'm out of time. Love you all, and please take care,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify