green apple living room

2001-09-10

This morning Boy, Francisco, and I were sitting at the kitchen table, having breakfast and/or coffee and talking. Boy was practicing his ventriloquistic skills by making his bellybutton talk to me--he knows how much I hate those singing navel commercials. Boy was making his bellybutton sing the song from the commercial and he paused for a moment, and then his navel (via his poor ventriloquism) said, "Sure thing, Joe Mayo." Do you remember that Seinfeld episode where they were going to a party (at Joe Mayo's place) and were complaining beforehand that he always assigned them jobs at his parties? Joe Mayo asked Putty (Puddy?) to keep people from putting drinks on the furniture, and Putty said, "Sure thing, Joe Mayo.", and it wasn't the line that was funny, particularly, it was the delivery. We saw that episode recently and laughed at the line, and Boy apparently filed it away in his head for just such an occasion. He was richly rewarded for his good memory, since we thought he was very funny.

The best thing we did this weekend was go antique shopping on Saturday afternoon. Francisco and I are very lucky that Boy enjoys antique shopping. I can't tell you why he does, but he does. He mostly looks for old toy guns or badges or toys, and Francisco and I look at everything else. Boy got an old toy gun that he really loves and Francisco and I got an old silver cup, a black lacquered box with gold bamboo design, an interesting book, and an album entitled "Knockers Up!", by some female comedic singer--Rusty something. The reason I got the album was not so I could listen to it--I don't even have a turntable. I bought it for two reasons 1) the cover--I like having something that says "Knockers Up!" in my living room and 2) I melted the album in the oven and made a plant pot out of it. I found that album project on the getcrafy website, and I like the way it looks. I'm going to go to the thrift store tomorrow at lunch and get several more albums for that purpose; it works great! And album covers are cool to hang on the walls, so there you go.

Speaking of the walls, I really want to paint my living room apple green, but Francisco has put the kibosh on it. His point is that we should do other things that actually need doing, because we have already painted the living room once in the past two years. And I can see his point, but... I like the color of the living room (silver mushroom) pretty well but I've been wanting something brighter in there, and apple green would be just the ticket with the furniture and carpet. I would paint the living room on the sly when Francisco is gone to his annual conference this November, but some of the furniture against the walls is too heavy for me to move by myself. You win for now, Francisco, but the next time we move, get ready for apple green.

My office did a pizza and salad lunch today. Those of us who wanted salad signed up for and brought different ingredients, so we had a salad bar kind of thing. A student who works for us, very part time, was there and she is Korean. She told us about her summer trip to Korea, and then the boss, a man proudly ignorant of other cultures, started joking around about differences in Asian cuisines and stuff like that, and asking purposely dumb questions, and it was pretty embarrassing. He thought he was being amusing, but he really wasn't. I just hope the student knows we're not all so ignorant. Oy.

This weekend I made bread, went to the library, cleaned and vacuumed the car and truck, vacuumed the house, cleaned the bathrooms, and so on. At the library I was fortunate enough to see and snatch up Chuck Palahniuk's new book, and I can hardly wait to read it. I love him!

I also love the movie Cool Hand Luke--I think it is one of the best American films ever made--and I was fortunate to be able to record it this weekend, and from AMC, which means no commercial breaks. I am very happy to have it on tape now, and I'm going to wear that tape out.

Feeling jelly-headed and uninspired today, so talk to you tomorrow.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify