and she keeps them pearly white

2001-09-07

During lunch today I went to the Best store! It's called The Untidy Museum, and it's in Durham (NC), and I think it's my new favorite store in this area. They sell weird, weird things. They had enormous lamps with crushed velvet shades, dishes, furniture, vintage clothes and shoes and accessories, pillows, and lots of other stuff I can't remember right now. As soon as I went in I knew I would have to buy something, because I need to do my part to keep this place in business. I was tempted, sorely tempted, by a black velvet painting of the devil sitting on a toilet (framed and only $8!), but I passed it up. The tag said something like, "God created the world in 6 days and on the 7th He rested. Meanwhile, across town, the Devil was taking a dump." There were other funny tags like that; one of the aforementioned large lamps had a tag that said, "A lamp that will satisfy the Pimp Daddy within us all". I Will go back; I think I'll make shopping there a regular thing, but on this particular visit what I purchased was three chiffon scarves (if chiffon is the material I mean--it's that very sheer floaty stuff), one in green, one in yellow, and one in orange. I have a scarf of the same variety at home, in red, and I may wear them or I may do something creatively decorative with them; not sure yet.

Francisco and I had the following conversation last night:

ME: When is your grandmother arriving?

HIM: Tuesday night, and on Wednesday night she and mom are coming over for dinner.

ME: Okay. What do you think we should make for dinner?

HIM: Something soft, according to mom. Apparently Mildred [his grandma] likes to take her dentures out when she eats.

ME:

ME:

ME: [it took some time to process this information]

ME: But isn't chewing your food the whole point of Having dentures?!

HIM: Not for Mildred. She uses hers for smiling.

ME: I guess we'll make mashed potatoes then.

I can't get over how ridiculous it is to have dentures that you TAKE OUT WHEN YOU EAT. I think that is in the top 5 of the stupidest things I've ever heard. I'm so happy Francisco didn't get his intelligence genes from his mom's side of the family. And you know, I'm betting she'll take the teeth out at the table and just plunk them next to her plate. I will Definitely update on Thursday about Wednesday night's dinner.

No firm plans for the weekend yet. Francisco's going to see if he can book his mom into babysitting (or "keeping", as they say in the south, and I prefer that term) the Boy for one evening of the weekend, because she's leaving to move back to Seattle a week from today and this might be our last chance to have a night out for awhile. We plan to find a babysitter, but we're not sure where to look, and we want to be sure we get someone good and reliable, so it could take us awhile to find someone. Basically we know nothing about locating babysitters; I guess we'll have to ask other parents.

One other thing--I don't usually pass on sad news like this, but sometimes we need to pause and remember what life is about. There was a great loss recently in the entertainment world. Larry LaPrise, the Detroit native who wrote the song� "Hokey Pokey," died last week at 83. It was especially difficult for the family to keep him in the casket. They'd put his left leg in and .....well, you know the rest.

I'm very very hungry right now, so let's let that be my punishment.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify