grocery shopping with tattoobelly

2001-09-05

I went grocery shopping at lunch, and I'm going to tell you what I bought because I was surprised at how little it all added up to, and this way you can be surprised too. (perhaps you can tell my life is not real action-packed lately)

10 pack Eggo Nutragrain waffles

a dozen large eggs

package of Oscar Meyer lean bacon

one eggplant

one cantaloupe

one Huge thing of salsa

jar of black bean garlic sauce

can of chickpeas

large bag of red grapes

one cabbage

one bunch of asparagus

sliced portabello mushrooms

two green peppers

5 kiwi fruit

2 zucchinis

a lot of broccoli

one yellow pepper

2 bananas

And the grand total for this shopping extravaganza was [drumroll...] $33.98. Admittedly I don't grocery shop very often (thank you, Francisco), but that doesn't seem like a lot of money for all that food. Healthy food is definitely less expensive than unhealthy food--this is the proof. Tonight I'm going to make ratatouille, or at least a made-up version of it, and I think it'll be quite tasty. The Boy will hate it for sure.

Did you see State & Main? It wasn't a Great movie but I thought it was pretty entertaining, and it featured one of my favorite actors, Philip Seymour Hoffman. I saw it a few weeks ago, but a line from the film popped into my head this morning, and it made me snicker all over again. William Macy's character (the film director, I think) saw some of the costumes for the movie they were making and he said, "Who designed these? It looks like Edith Head puked, and that puke designed these costumes!" Love that line.

Last night Francisco made a really good dinner; something we recently "invented" (I say we invented it but I'm sure others have made this same thing too, long before us). He stir fried pork and broccoli and onions, and when they were ready we poured in just-made top ramen soup. We used to buy top ramen and only use the noodles, throwing the flavor pack away (at ten for a dollar, on sale, who cares if you throw away the flavor?), but then one time we decided to turn a stir fry into a soup, and the stir fry ramen soup was born. It's really pretty good, and we use very little oil to fry with, since there is plenty in the flavor pack. Top ramen kind of blows my "healthy food is cheaper" theory, as do those fried pies that come individually wrapped. My parents have always called ramen "Japanese soup". Still to this day when they want ramen, they will say "Let's have some Japanese soup". It's very endearing.

Went to the gym this morning and read while pedalling a bike, then lifted a few weights and hit the showers. I know I could do a little more, but it's hard to be very energetic before 6:00 a.m. I figured out I'm sleeping more than I thought I was, and I'm dreaming so that means I'm in REM sleep, right? Do people dream if they aren't in REM sleep? But I'm still not feeling very rested in the morning, and I don't know why. It's getting pretty irritating, but I will overcome.

I feel done now. Boy finds out today if he got the job he applied for in his classroom last week. I will report back.

Love and kisses,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify