do I smell caramel apples?

2001-09-04

Hi you guys! This is later than I usually update but at lunch I went walking with Francisco, and after the walk I got absorbed in this site. Very fun!

Francisco and I have a history of walking together, from before we were dating to the present time. We always talk and usually it's about plans for the future or brainstorm-y ideas and whatnot. Today, in addition to talking about the future, we talked about neurological disorders. See, we watched that show about Faces, on TLC this weekend, and there was a man on there whose brain was damaged during surgery to remove a tumor, and the result is that he cannot recognize anyone's face. Not even his children's faces. Francisco was fascinated; he loves interesting neurological disorders. Today he said he wished he had one, and I scoffed, and he said, "Really, wouldn't it be cool if you had some small problem, like if everything smelled like caramel apples all the time." I pointed out the obvious drawbacks to that, namely that you wouldn't be able to tell if you had B.O., or if there was a gas leak in your house, and countered his neurological disorder with the more user-friendly, "What if you felt like you were walking in a warm mud bath all the time?" We discussed the relative merits of each disorder and laughed a lot. I know neurological problems aren't Funny, especially to the people who suffer from them, but you have to admit they are interesting to ponder.

This was a fairly good weekend, but not ultra exciting or anything. Friday night we watched Cactus Flower, the old Goldie Hawn, Walter Matthau, Ingrid Bergman film. It was fun, and I enjoyed it, and I'm glad we watched it so I could return it to the library on Saturday. Saturday before the library we went to the gym and put in some good, hard exercise. Went home and did cleaning/laundry things, and then went to the library and the store. We all went and at the store we discovered we were ravenously hungry, so we decided to have an early dinner, as long as we were out. Went to a Mexican place and I had chicken soft tacos. They were soooo good, especially since I have been subsisting primarily on apples, string cheese, and baked beans for the past week. After that, went home and Boy played, Francisco did academic stuff, and I laid on the bed and read. I did a lot of reading this weekend.

On Sunday Francisco's mom came over for lunch. He told her 1:00, so I knew she would come over around 12:30 and she did not disappoint. We have decided we need to tell her to arrive 30 minutes later than we want her to, so that she can arrive on time. Anyway, Francisco made grilled chicken breasts, Spanish rice, rolls, and salad; it was quite delicious.

Yesterday I woke up with a horrible migraine. I took some ibuprofen and drank coffee (the ibuprofen/coffee cocktail, I like to call it) and the migraine mostly went away. I had promised Boy I would take him to The Princess Diaries, so I went through with it, even though I was sure the movie would start the migraine up again. I am happy to report I was wrong, and also the movie was funny and not at all bad like I thought it might be. We laughed a lot and were both in an excellent mood when it was over. When we got home Francisco was there and he helped Boy with a school project Boy and I had started in the morning, before the movie. We made fish and chips for dinner (pan-fried cod and oven-baked fries--not real healthy but not Too horrible), and then I read while they played video games.

Francisco got his official naked race photo in the mail this weekend, and it is quite amusing. I brought it to work to show it to the three people here who know about the race, and also to make a copy of it on the sly. I want to send the copy to my friend, Isabel, so that her spouse, D, can be even more scandalized by us. It's fun to be the "wacky" friends.

Out of time and material, so bye for now. Take care!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify