corndog dinner

2001-08-28

I got back a little while ago from a work-related event. I was helping the coordinator of the event, and there was a free raffle for which I was giving away tickets. Or should I say, trying to give away tickets, because almost no one wanted to participate. I can't even tell you how many times I said, "Free Raffle; Fabulous Prizes!" to people. Generally people took the tickets, but only 27 people actually entered the drawing. The other several hundred just took the tickets away with them. After that, I said, "Free bookmark!" a few times, just to be stupid. I found that I could get more people to accept a raffle ticket if I added "Seriously" or "For real", after the "Free Raffle!" exclamation. One guy, in response to "Free Raffle", said, "no thanks, I'm good", and another one said, "Alright..." very grudgingly. I laughed a lot today.

And by the way, I feel much better today, mentally. Still tired because I'm not sleeping well, but I'm no longer weepy. I'm not sure why I was so overly emotional, but the tendency seems to be gone, and thank god, because I was driving myself nuts.

This morning Francisco and I were talking with the Boy about this and that, and we got on the subject of eyes. Francisco and I both have blue eyes, and Boy has hazel eyes. Francisco mentioned that eyes are the first thing he notices about other people, and I said they were the first thing I notice too. Francisco then asked Boy what the first thing he noticed about people was. Boy answered, unhesitatingly, "Shoes". He is way too fashion-conscious for a 10 year old.

Dynamiterave has commented before on the oddness of my dreams, and I would just like to say I had an odd dream this morning that he himself was in. I dreamt that he had borrowed a bunch of videotapes and stuff from a pawnbroker and then the stuff was stolen. Dynamiterave panicked and left town, because the pawnbroker was a mafia-type guy and was going to be violent and angry, so then I was trying to negotiate with the pawnbroker and give him some of my stuff so that he wouldn't break Dynamite's legs. Dynamiterave, do you see what a good friend I am? I saved your bacon while you skipped town like a big chicken. I love to mix my metaphors.

There is a seemingly wounded squirrel living in our yard. I can't tell if he's wounded or if he has ringworm or something, but there is definitely fur missing from his left side. I think I should put food out for him, so does anyone know what squirrels eat? Or rather, does anyone know what squirrels Should eat, because I know from experience that they really like bird food, but I don't know if that's good for them or not.

Tonight there is a shindig at Boy's school, and it's just his class. There will be a dinner provided and then parents will report to the classroom for a meeting about how things are going so far. We will probably also hear the particulars about the 5th grade trip to Washington, D.C., which will happen in the Spring. Many fundraisers will follow, I'm sure.

I think I'm out of material for now, but check back tomorrow for another exciting installment.

Love and kisses,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify