don't bother with the Evil Eye--I'm protected

2001-08-23

1. A big THANKS to everyone who signed my guestbook yesterday--that was very encouraging. I SWEAR to you that my diary vacation idea was not a ploy to get guestbook signatures, but they did help me to feel that I'm not totally boring y'all. I've thought about it and have decided that for now at least, I don't really need a vacation. I Do need to get some perspective on this diary thing, but I can do that without a vacation. Huh, maybe I should've joined that Angsty Diaryring after all.

2. Work is really annoying me this week. People are coming in to see me and they don't have appointments but I have to see them anyway, and I don't have time! I find myself throwing these mini-tantrums, and it's very childish. Like, our receptionist will buzz me to tell me that yet another person/group has dropped in to see me, and I will say okay and hang up, and will then bang things around a bit until I feel better. It's always the same people; the people who have bugged me on the phone for months are coming in to bug me some more about the same things we've talked about a grillion times. I know things will be better in a week or so, but right now work sucks ass.

3. One of my coworkers has been given gifts this week, from a couple of her "drop-in" people. I've gotten bubkus so far, but I thought I would tell you the three things I've received from people (clients, basically) over the years. The first is a plant, or rather 2 plants in one container. They are cactuses and they continue to live, or at least I think they're alive. It doesn't matter. The second (this was my favorite) is a "Hot Pot"--a device that boils and dispenses water. The instructions are in Korean but we managed to figure out how it works anyway. Francisco co-opted the hot pot a long time ago--he uses it in his office for tea and for instant "just add hot water" lunch things. The third gift is actually two identical gifts given by two non-identical people. They are these round blue glass evil eye warder-off-ers. One person gave me one and I have it in my office and then several months later someone else comes in with a gift and I unwrap it and it's the same thing. The first one was hanging on my wall but it probably wasn't directly in their line of sight, so I was trying to be real animated while thanking them, to keep their attention from straying to the other one. It was hard not to laugh at the situation while it was occurring, but I managed. I took the second one home, and it hangs in my kitchen. It's funny that two different people would think I could use something to repel the Evil Eye. Maybe I am just that abrasive.

4. [I don't know why I'm using the list format, but I started with it so I should continue] We didn't go to the gym this morning; Francisco and I went for a walk instead. I'm kind of sad that it's so dark in the mornings again; when it's lighter I feel better, I wake up faster. Most of the time we were walking it was almost totally dark, but then the whole dawn thing happened so it was light when we got back home. I know a lot of people love to have light in the evening and get depressed when we do the daylight savings thing and it's dark at 5 pm, but not me. I can hardly Wait.

5. I've only just recently figured out that Elvis was a total bumpkin. I was a kid when he died and I wasn't a fan so I didn't care [sorry], but lately I've been hearing/reading a lot of random things about Elvis, and they all add up to his bumpkinage. Poor guy, it must've been hard for him to be so famous when all he really needed to be happy was a grilled peanut butter and banana sandwich. Francisco and I have an Elvis cookbook; it's called "Are You Hungry Tonight?". He got it at a Xmas gift exchange several years ago--it was a joke gift, obviously. We've never made any of the recipes, because we like our hearts too much, but maybe we should. We could have a dinner party where the menu was totally from the Elvis book, and we could play his music and pass out sideburns for everyone to wear. What do you think?

6. Francisco has a meeting this afternoon so I'm leaving at 3 to be home with the Boy. We'll have a good time, once he finishes his homework. Yesterday afternoon Boy dragged Francisco down the block to look at the new car of one of the two state troopers who live in our neighborhood. It's a State Trooper car, but it's like a Camaro or something, and is tres fancy. Boy was so excited; he loves all things Police. It's interesting that he loves Police things so much, when his mom and dad have both been such rampant lawbreakers.

7. Nothing else to report. Last night we just had dinner and did our normal thing. Our normal thing is not very interesting, just so you know. Tonight it will probably be more of the same, but if anything cool/out of the ordinary happens, I will be sure to let you know.

Are you feeling the love? Because I'm sending the love.

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify