a slow...brain...thing

2001-08-20

I learned something important this morning: My instincts, while mysterious and sometimes illogical, should be listened to. I woke up feeling not so great today; not truly sick, just a little hormonal and tired. Whatever the cause, I wanted to call in sick, really really bad. I have an afternoon appointment so I made myself come to work (almost turned around and went home a few times on the way), and I'd only been here a half hour before my Arch-Nemesis showed up, unexpectedly. This is a person who, three years ago, decided he didn't like me because of something he declared to be my fault but which wasn't my fault, so I refused to accept responsibility for it. He is unfailingly rude to me and consistently implies that I am not doing my job correctly. Last year he wrote a letter to my boss saying that I had made mistakes with his information, and my boss wrote back and said that not only had I Not made mistakes, but that I had been more generous than he (my boss) would have been. So this morning the Nemesis came in and implied that we'd lost things he had sent and generally made a huge pain of himself, and was rude not only to me but to everyone he spoke with. I can't help but think the Universe was trying to tell me something this morning (i.e., call in sick) and that I just refused to get the message. But on the other hand, it's good I was here because I'm used to getting rudeness from the A-N and other people aren't, and my presence minimized the number of people who had to be in contact with his Evil. I tell you, I will eventually triumph over the Arch-Nemesis. It may not be until I am leaving this job, but it Will happen. And oh it will be sweet.

The preceding is a choppy and weird paragraph--try to ignore it. My head is large with foam. Or it feels that way.

This was a fairly good weekend. I did a lot of reading; I read Hugh Laurie's 'The Gun Seller', which was very entertaining and fun. I love Hugh Laurie for his acting, but who knew he could write? Besides him, I mean. I went to the library on Saturday and checked out some movies--one Thin Man movie, one Bette Davis movie, and one other I can't remember. I love that my library has good movies, even though they don't have exercise videos, which was what I was looking for in the first place. Also, Francisco and I decided this weekend that we are going to fix up the chairs in our dining area rather than buy new ones. I was watching The Fix on HGTV on Saturday and they showed how to reupholster chairs that have only an upholstered seat, like our dining chairs. The chairs also need to be glued/reinforced in places (the legs are loose) and painted, probably, so it's a big project but one we can surely handle. I get so fired up watching home improvement shows; they're great inspiration.

Francisco talked to his sister on Saturday. She really really wants us to fly out to Seattle for Christmas. We have been planning, since last Xmas, to go to Florida for Xmas this year, and I have been totally looking forward to it, so my first thought was 'no way'. But she wants us to see the baby, and as an impending new mom she would just like to have her whole family together this year, and also she could really use us there as a buffer between her parents, who are divorced but who will be thrown together a lot because of the grandchild. So we agreed to go, and I think we will have a nice time, but I admit to being extremely disappointed about Florida. I was really looking forward to the snorkeling and swimming and etc. I got Francisco to agree to spending only 4 or 5 days in Seattle at Christmas so that I can take more time off when we're back home, because I'll need to rest after the holiday travelling ordeal. I hate flying during the holidays; it's the worst.

Last night our friends came over for dinner and for Iron Chef. We made stir-fried pork and noodles (really good!), gazpacho, grilled asparagus, and foccacia, plus we had vanilla ice cream with warm blackberry sauce and shortbread for dessert. And ooh, I had a Chambord martini, which was delicious and went right to my head. Our friends enjoyed Iron Chef--they had never seen it--and it was a great one for them to watch because it was fraught with interest. The challenger had his mentor with him, and the mentor drank a whole bottle of wine and started smacking the challenger's assistants in the head when he thought they were bungling something. I'd never seen That happen on IC before. It was fabulous!

I think I better stop now. Tattoobelly brain not work so good today. I always feel obligated to update during the week, so I'm updating, but if my brain wasn't so fuzzy, this would be a better entry. Hopefully tomorrow all synapses will be firing again; we'll see.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify