I need to stop dreaming

2001-08-06

Sometimes I have the most incredibly disturbing dreams; like this morning for instance. I'm a little fuzzy with this dream, but I will try and recount it to the best of my memory, and will try to be brief. I dreamt that I was a student and that I was trying to get one of the highly coveted "research rooms" available at whatever college I was at. A group of other students somehow managed to get the research room I was angling for, and they did it in an underhanded way. I decided to get even with them by wrecking some experiment they had going, and they had a kitten that was part of the experiment. Here's where it gets really frightening. I thought the kitten was dead and that they were going to use its little body for research, so I bit the kitten. [why I would actually put my mouth on a dead kitten was never a question in the dream] I bit it and bit it and I did internal damage. Then the kitten stirred. It had merely been asleep, and it was so adorable and beautiful and I suddenly realized that because I had bitten it so viciously, it was going to die, and probably die painfully. I was instantly so horrified and remorseful and I couldn't think what to do. I believe I looked around for a vet but that I left the kitten where it was and by the time I got back it was dead. So to sum up; in my dream I bit a kitten to death. My god, people--I need to be locked up. Thinking about this dream is still giving me a nervous stomach, even after several hours of being awake. Sleeping can really suck sometimes.

This weekend we did two main things: Friday night and Saturday we installed the new kitchen floor--yellow and white checkerboard. If I manage to get a digital camera someday, maybe I will post pictures, because I think it looks really great. The tile was pretty easy to install because we didn't have to remove the old tile and because the tiles are 12 inches square, so it went pretty quickly. The hardest part was cutting pieces to fit at the edges or around corners, etc, and poor Francisco cursed and sweated his way through that. He did very well, and I'm glad I didn't have to do it because I know I would have messed it up somehow. The kitchen looks a lot bigger now; it is lovely.

Sunday, as a reward for getting the kitchen floor done, we went back to the nudist ranch. We spent a blissful 6 hours reading by the pool and swimming. Swim awhile, read awhile, etc. There were lots of interesting people to talk to, and we had snacks and beer, and it was generally an extremely relaxing day. We got sunburns, and that wasn't great because I sunburned my bosom (which has not seen the light of day since I was a kid), but it's not that bad a burn and should heal up soon. Oh, one thing about the nudist ranch, when we drove up to the clubhouse, people were outside playing volleyball. If that's not your stereotypical nudist activity, I don't know what is. Next Saturday they're having a "Jimmy Buffet party", which several people urged us to attend, but since Boy is back on Thursday night and starts school Monday, we're going to spend the weekend with him.

Re: the nudist ranch, and specifically the naked 5K, Molzo wanted to know if, during the race, I had observed any weiners moving in circles (as Francisco's weiner had done when he ran a surreptitious naked test lap at a track, early in the morning). I regret to say I didn't notice any. At the finish line I kind of glanced to see if I could see the movement of various weiners, and mainly they were just kind of swinging back and forth. Francisco told me, though, that when he ran his test lap, he was pretty much sprinting, and there wasn't so much sprinting at the naked 5K. People didn't care enough to sprint.

So that was my weekend. I also watched Iron Chef and did laundry. Woo-Hoo!

Off the subject of the weekend, I own the best notebook. It was given to me a couple years ago, and I don't really know where it originated, but it is leather and orange and says "1999 NCAA Final Four" on it. The best thing about this notebook is that the orange skin on it is bumpy, exactly like a basketball. It's not a notebook so much as a notebook holder, so I can keep it forever and cherish its ugliness for years to come. Because it really is quite hideous. I love it.

One last thing: I used to know a family who had a little boy named Jon. He was about 2 when I knew them, and he was sooo funny. Once I was walking with his mom and he was running ahead and he stopped at a newly planted tree and pulled one of the branches so it broke. His mom saw and she said, "Jon--no! Don't pull on the trees." Jon pointed at me, "Eva did it." I know it was wrong of me to laugh as hard as I did, because it probably only encouraged him, but I couldn't help it. Little kids really crack me up.

Love to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify