Francisco's Mystery Mansion Tale

2001-07-31

Hello dahlings! I'm back, and I regret not having updated yesterday, but I took the day off and I had a long list of chores I had to do, and by the time I was done with them, I just didn't have the energy to update. And at this moment I don't have the Time to update about the Naked 5K; I need to wait until my lunch hour when I will be able to shut my door and not be interrupted. All I will say right now is that it was a truly great experience, but I will go into detail later. What follows is that email Francisco sent me last Friday about his trip to the Winchester Mystery Mansion. When you read it, keep in mind that the events occurred during his wild past (I think he was 18 or 19), and that he is 35 now, and much more responsible. Plus, he felt guilty about that cup for years, so he Does have a conscience.

--------------------------

You didn't mention that you'd seen the Winchester Mystery Mansion on that

Discovery show, so imagine my surprise when I logged on this morning to read about it. That is the very house that Bennett and I violated many years ago. Here's how it happened.

On our Road Trip of Folly and Infamy to Southern California to see an old Girlfriend of Bennett's graduate from college (so stoned out of our minds I barely remember the college, never mind the ceremony), we actually visited the Winchester Mansion--at Bennett's urging, I don't know why. I suppose he thought we could make it into an occasion for Evil.

Of course before actually going on the 8-dollar tour of this family-friendly attraction, it seemed judicious to sit in the parking lot and pound several alcoholic beverages--some kind of wine cooler, as I recall. This prepared us to be truly Mystified by the Mansion.

Upon entering, however, we soon ascertained that our interests did not precisely fit that of the tour guide or the group to which we were assigned. We remedied this through the simple expedient of falling somewhat behind the group, then climbing out onto the Winchester Mystery Roof through one of the many Winchester Mystery Windows. After a brief appreciation of the Roof, during which time we may or may not have drunk further alcoholic beverages hidden on our persons, we selected a different window and reentered a less heavily trafficked area of the house, where we conducted our own tour. It was during this private expedition that I acquired, by the simple means of swiping it, a blue and white teacup which is still in my Mother's possession, though I doubt she could say very clearly where I was supposed to have gotten it. We rejoined our group without incident in the inevitable souvenir shop at the end of the tour and stumbled our way back toward the Interstate. All in all, the Winchester Mystery Mansion is surely among the most memorable roadside attractions I'vehad the pleasure to visit.

--------------------------------

Ah, youth!

More later,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify