less talky, more scrapey

2001-07-24

You know how sometimes when you're driving and someone in the oncoming traffic will flash their lights at you to let you know there's a cop up ahead of you? That's so Dukes of Hazzard.

Ay yi yi, I not feela so good. I woke up with a headache and it's gotten a little better, but I also have a periodic weird stomach. Francisco has reported the same symptoms, and either it's from breathing paint fumes overnight, or there is a virus afoot. Either way it kinda stinks.

I had a dream this morning that I was back in college, one I had never attended before, and the college was being run by one of my old professors from a college I Did attend. He was giving me a tour of the building, and he pointed to a room and said, "That's where we keep the electric chair". I thought he was joking but he was serious. I told him the college wasn't allowed to have an electric chair and he said they were. So then I said, "okay, but you're not allowed to Use it!" And he said, "Yes we are. We had one at the other college too, and we used it." I asked who they electrocuted and he said, "Homeless people, mostly. About one a month." So then I was frantic and was trying to find the cops so I could tell them the college was electrocuting homeless people, but the professor seemed so unconcerned, like they had a license to kill people, as long as they were homeless, and only one a month or so. Moderation in all things, I guess.

Yesterday I realized I had a dental appt today--a cleaning. It is So not the day to have to hold my mouth open and be scraped, but I went anyway. The hygenist is really talkative and she got going on something, and it was an entertaining enough story, but the problem was, she wasn't cleaning the teeth at the same time. She was just sitting there talking, and I was thinking, "okay, I really need to get back to work", and wondering if I should just open my mouth pointedly at her. I didn't end up doing that, and thankfully she started with the scraping and the cleaning and it wasn't too bad a cleaning overall. I said to her when she first started, "I Beg you to be kind to my recessions", and she was. No shooting pains at all, so that was good. The dentist said my teeth looked great, so I asked him if he could tell I had chewed hard candy last night, and he laughed and said no. Yes! Once again my wiley oral hygiene saved me from getting busted, except of course that I pretty much gave myself away with the question. Eh.

After the cleaning I went and got some lunch as my reward for being so brave and responsible as to actually show up at the dentist. I went to a nearby grocery store where they have freshly made sushi. I got some eel rolls and an 8 ounce coke. The real sugar stuff, and it was so good. The eel rolls, on the other hand, turned out to be yesterday's sushi. They weren't horrible, but I could tell they weren't a batch from today, because the seaweed was kind of limp, and they had no fresh zing. I ate them anyway, as I was hungry, but they would have been so much better if they were from today. Sushi bastards.

Okay, I have discovered the most wonderful diary. And when I say "discovered" I mean it in the same way as Columbus "discovering" America; always there but I didn't know about it. He is humantorch, and he totally cracks me up. I would go so far as to say I love him. A platonic kind of a love. A distant sort of platonic kind of love; the kind of love you have for a celebrity, where you love them and they don't know you exist and couldn't care less if you get run over by a bike messenger. That kind of love. Anyway, you should totally check him out, because he is a genius.

I will be going home in a few minutes, and we may or may not be putting the final glazey coat on the kitchen walls. When I got home last night, Francisco had put another coat of paint on the walls, so now it just needs the glaze coat. However, since we are both not feeling too great, we may just finish it tomorrow instead. The incentive to do it tonight even though we don't feel so hot comes from everything being out of whack in the kitchen area; it's hard to get to the things we need, and it makes us not want to even bother. So it would be nice to get everything put back into place, but on the other hand, bleah.

I must tell you one other thing. Without mentioning any names, we have a computer support kind of guy who comes over once a month or so--whenever we have problems. He is an odd man. He is kind of a hippy type, maybe 37 or so, and he is quite talkative. Some of the things that come out of his mouth are pretty funny--he is the one who told me I am "delightfully Rubenesque". Anyway, yesterday he told one of my coworkers that he had become quite interested in erotic dance, and in fact had recently performed an erotic dance at a club, when under the influence of "altering substances". He said it was a spiritual experience, and he intends to pursue doing it more in the future. It is an amusing thing mainly because he is not the type of guy one usually thinks of as a male erotic dancer. One does not picture erotic dancing when thinking of him. I just like him more and more; he has untold layers of weirdness, and hopefully they will all be revealed in time.

And speaking of time, it's time for me to go. I hope you are all well, and talk to you tomorrow.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify