should I fear the rice cooker? I think not.

2001-07-23

Hey kids! Since this morning's tiny entry I have done some work, and also went shopping at lunch to get my sis some birthday things. I really like the two things I got her, and I'm going to get her one more thing tonight so I can mail her gift tomorrow. So much fun to shop for her.

This was a good weekend, equally balanced with accomplishments and entertainment. First of all, the entertainment. We saw two movies that are possibly among the worst ever made. Friday night we saw Men Cry Bullets, which Francisco rented because the beautiful Jeri Ryan was in it, and he loves her. It was really bad, almost torturous, and I beg you never to rent it, no matter how much you love Jeri Ryan or her bosoms. The other movie had more promise, but it did not deliver. It was Japanese and was called something like Scenes from the Sea. It was about a deaf boy who begins surfing when he finds a broken surfboard, and also about his deaf girlfriend who likes to watch him surf, and who rapturously enjoys folding his pants. Do not rent it. It has a weak beginning, an indifferent middle, and no real end to speak of. It ends by trailing off in the middle of something, and you're left saying, "what the hell was that?!" Francisco rented it because the director of the very good Japanese film, Kikojiru, directed this one, and like I said, it had promise. Get Kikojiru instead.

We also did some shopping this weekend. We went to Target, a store we love but don't usually visit, because it is a distance away. We didn't buy much, but we got a few things we needed/wanted, and it was fun to look at all the neat toasters and stuff. I got a little straw pocketbook, on clearance for $3.29, and a bright orange straw tote, on clearance for $3.49. I am enjoying them both.

We then had lunch at a Great Indian place. Man, it was so good. You know you're going to get good Indian food when all the other customers are Indian. It's called Royal India, on hwy 70 near the Crabtree Mall, for anyone who is a Triangle resident and wants a good Indian meal. Tell them I sent you; they will regard you quizzically.

After the Indian food, we waddled around Crabtree Mall for a long time. We purchased 4 wineglasses at Crate and Barrel and that was it. Aren't you proud of our restraint? I know I am. We visited all our favorite stores and lusted after beautiful objects. All that lusting tired us out so we got iced coffees and lusted some more. Also I used the world's stinkiest bathroom and made a sign for the outer door that said, "Warning: Putrescent". Then, exhausted after what seemed like hours of shopping, we returned home.

Once home we rested our tired old bones awhile, and then we Got Up And Stripped The Wallpaper Off the Kitchen Walls. All caps because I wanted to emphasize that we had actually done it instead of just talking about it. Can I say, wallpaper is a pain in the ass, but it's not as hard to strip as you might think. It is time consuming, but not difficult, so if you have been putting off a wallpaper project, as I had been, don't delay any longer. Go to the hardware store and get the chemicals and just do it; you'll be glad.

After the wallpaper, more resting. We watched some of a show on The Learning Channel called Ancient Prophecies IV and it was total crap. It was basically talking about how different people or cultures had predicted different disasters and whatnot, so we should all be nervous. My personal favorite prediction was from the Mayans, who allegedly predicted that on September 21, 2012, our electronics and applicances are going to rise up and have a go at killing us, while our pets attack, berate, and lecture us. I am not making this up. I told Lucy and Esther that if they thought they were going to attack me or give me a lecture, they better stop and remember the food and the petting and all the times they barfed on the carpet and I didn't get mad. That Learning Channel is a little iffy with what they're thinking we should learn, in my opinion.

Yesterday morning Francisco went for his Long Run and I slept in awhile. I got up at 7:30 (I know, it's not sleeping in for most people, but I normally get up at 5:00, so 7:30 is sleeping in for me), had some breakfast, and then washed the now wallpaperless walls. Francisco came home, showered, and then we viewed the Iron Chef recorded from the night before. After the Iron Chef we went to Home Depot. We got paint for the kitchen (two colors because we're going to glaze one over the other) and ordered tiles for the kitchen floor. Can I take a moment to endorse Armstrong's Excelon tiles? They're so great; easy to install, long-wearing, cheap, and they come in the most gorgeous colors. We got a bright yellow and a white because we're making yellow and white check, and we can do our whole kitchen floor for only $150. Go with the Excelon; trust me on this.

We put a coat of paint on the kitchen walls yesterday. We have to do two coats of the bottom color, and then put the glaze on top of that. The bottom color is a sunny yellow, and the top is kind of mango. It will be lovely. Yesterday while doing the trim, I decided to paint some rude words on the walls, and even with a coat of paint over them, they show through. The second coat will take care of that; we will apply it tonight.

This has turned into quite the home-improvement update, and sorry if it's boring, but I'm just really excited to have that nasty wallpaper out of there and finally be painting the kitchen yellow/gold, just as we envisioned it two years ago when we moved in. We should've done it sooner; I don't know why we waited so long.

I have a message from Francisco. Last week we were watching (yes, aGAIN with the television!) a show on PBS that is the history of the Roman Empire. It was part one of a two part series, and it was really really interesting; we Love the ancient Romans, they were so ruthless. Anyway, Francisco wants it noted that, contrary to what the PBS show said, there was no general census of the Roman Empire during the reign of Augustus, and to say there was is pandering. Did I get that right, sweetie? Pandering? He is appalled and will be writing to PBS to register his complaint, but he wanted to get the word out to others as well.

I swear we don't watch as much television as it probably sounds like from my diary. We always watch Iron Chef, and we watch Trading Spaces and M*A*S*H, but that's about it nowadays, unless there is a show on like the history of the Roman Empire. Ooh, have you ever watched 'I, Claudius'? It's old and is a little cheesy looking, but it's so riveting. You could probably find it at your local public library and check it out instead of renting it. It's a seven tape (I think it's seven) series, so checking it out would save you a good bit of money. Anyway, even if you could care less about the ancient Romans, you would enjoy the series, because I didn't care about them until I watched it, and now I just can't get enough.

I've gotta work now. There is a lot of catching up still to do, and I'm having a problem with motivation lately. Maybe more coffee would help.

Love to all, and really; don't buy that census thing,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify