Young Bingo

2001-07-16

Hi you guys! Possibly it was noticed that I did not update on Friday, and that is because I was unwell. I woke up with a sore throat and was quite dizzy and a little feverish. I did not call in sick to work because I had a couple of appointments coming in and also because I had promised a few people that I would have things done for them by Friday. I came to work and did what I needed to do and saw my appointments, and went home at 1:30 or so. At home I took an hour's comfort in Kids In The Hall, and then Francisco and I went to Costco. I walked slow and grandma-like at Costco, so as not to wear my poor sick self out. After unloading our Costco purchases at home, we zipped off to an early showing of Legally Blonde. And can I just say, it is not Oscar material, but it's worth seeing anyway. Lots to laugh at and Reese Witherspoon does not disappoint. She played her character perfectly; it is good light entertainment. I recommend!

Saturday morning I woke up feeling somewhat better. I managed to do cleaning and laundry, and started my Boy Room Rearrangement/Cleaning Project. That room is vile. I honestly don't think it's been dusted in 9 months at least, because usually there is so little surface area left uncluttered that the mere thought of dusting in there drains me. I did what I could on Saturday, and we rented and watched a movie--The Eyes of Tammy Faye. It is a documentary about Tammy Faye, formerly Bakker, and it was fascinating. You know, over-the-top makeup jokes aside, Tammy Faye is a really good-hearted person who has been a victim of circumstance and naivete. I went from a vaguely negative attitude about her to really liking her and feeling sorry that she's gotten so many raw deals in life. I think everyone should see this film; it is riveting.

Sunday morning I felt tons better, and went out at 7:00 and weeded the hosta and fern bed while Francisco was on his Long Run (he did 16+ miles, which I cannot even fathom doing, myself). It is not a huge bed but it was packed full of weeds, so it took me about an hour, and then I mulched. Francisco got a truckload of shredded bark on Saturday, and for some mysterious reason it smells just like strong cow manure. I'm sure our neighbors are thrilled, because it is totally stinking up the place. He did a lot of work in the yard on Saturday and it looks really good again.

In other outdoor news, our culdesac is the new residence of a woodchuck. We observed him beetling through our yard on Saturday and we assumed he was on his way somewhere, but he's apparently set up house in the culvert next to our neighbor's house. He is very cute, I must say, and yesterday we threw a potato and two carrots into his ditch, to see if he would eat them. He ate one carrot but left the other and the potato. I think I'll try half an apple this evening and see if that is more to his liking. We decided to call him Bingo, after a character in Wodehouse's Jeeves and Wooster stories, just so we could say, "there goes young Bingo" when we see him. I wanted to call him Scott but I was overruled.

Went to the gym this morning for the first time in several days. It was okay, and for several exciting minutes I thought the guy on the fitness machine next to me was reading a Glamour. It was on his machine and it was open but he never turned a page, and he abandoned it when he finished exercising. Must have been left on the machine by someone else; that was quite disappointing. There was another new guy at the gym this morning, and I have decided to call him Wedgie Man. He is very muscular, and he strutted around quite a bit, but the muscle man effect was spoiled by his shorts being wedged into his buttcrack the whole time--not a flattering look for anyone.

Boy called yesterday to say he's having a lot of fun, and to ask permission to go to a camp--a week-long stay-over camp. He's never gone to an away camp before--only daycamp--so we're slightly apprehensive but we're letting him go. I think 10 is a good age to go to camp, and Boy has the personality to enjoy it, but I can't help but worry a little. On the other hand, this means I get to compile and send at least one package to him at camp, and I do Love to send presents.

We watched 3 Iron Chefs this weekend; all good. I am really developing quite a crush on Chairman Kaga. I would like to write him a fan letter, but I have no idea where to send such a thing. I guess I'll try and get the address of the cooking school he is chairman of, in Japan, and send it there. Maybe if Boy goes as Kaga for Halloween, I could send a photograph of him in costume. Surely that would catch Kaga-san's attention. What I would love is to be a guest taster on Iron Chef, but I know that's not going to happen, since I'm not famous.

Another show I watched and loved this weekend was Trading Spaces, on The Learning Channel. A lot of times I don't really like the renovations they make, but it is still interesting because of the do-it-yourselfness of the show. I also like seeing the Good ideas they come up with.

So to recap:

1) I was sick but I'm well now.

2) I watched a lot of television and two movies this weekend.

3) I did some work in the yard and in the house.

4) There's not a lot going on that is exciting.

I know I had some actually Interesting things to talk about, but I can't remember any of them right now; maybe tomorrow. I hope you are all well, and I send love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify