obscure geographic references

2001-07-05

What was the first book you ever read by yourself? Mine was Mr. Pine's Mixed-Up Signs. That title makes me smirk; I don't know why.

Well well well, July 4. It was no big deal but was a good day anyway. I spent the morning cleaning the house, which is great because it looks a lot better and I won't have to do any cleaning this weekend. Francisco and I went to Walmart in the afternoon, and to the grocery store to get some stuff for dinner. His mom came over last night and we had hamburgers, potato salad, coleslaw, and chips (plus a couple gimlets apiece...mmmm). We almost never buy potato chips, so those were especially treat-y.

We had a big rainstorm last night, so no fireworks were lit and we'll have to do that tonight. When we were buying fireworks yesterday, I could not beLIEve how much other people were spending on them. The people in front of us bought $150 worth--that is Crazy to me. Maybe they're just rich, but they didn't seem rich. Whatever.

Tuesday night Francisco's mom watched Boy while Francisco and I went out and got Boy's birthday gifts. We got him some shorts and a shirt, several good books, some night vision "spy" goggles (kids are sooo into that spy thing right now), and a cd he'll like. It's a harmonica blues cd--he likes the blues and he likes the harmonica, so there you go. Saturday morning I'm going to make Boy's favorite breakfast, French toast, and we'll give him our gifts. We will then need to pack whatever he wants to take with him to his grandparents, since he's leaving very early on Sunday morning. I'm starting to really dread putting him on that plane, but once he's in Oregon I'll be able to relax and enjoy a little freedom. And Boy will be able to be the little prince for a month, and I know he's going to love That.

When we bought the cd for the Boy we also bought the O Brother, Where Art Thou? cd, and can I just say again how much I love that soundtrack? It's very folk-y, so not everyone's cup of tea, but I love it. Highly Recommended and definitely included.

Mother in law mentioned something last night that made my stomach sink like a rock dropped into the Mariana Trench. She is planning to have her mother (Francisco's grandmother) visit for 2 weeks this summer, before she moves back to Seattle. Francisco's grandmother is, beyond a doubt, the most self-centered person I've ever met. She is also a hypochondriac, and has been for years and years. The last time she traveled anywhere (that I know about anyway) she had to visit Urgent Care like 3 times in one week. It would surely be the same if she's out here, and I just don't want any part of it. She wants Francisco's mother to take her (amongst other places) to NYC, and I can't imagine why. NY is a walking city, and there's no way she would be able to walk as much there as she'd need to. She'll drive Francisco's mother crazy, and maybe that won't be such a bad thing. Francisco's mom has picked up more than a few habits from her mother, and it would be great if she could see her own bad habits magnified by ten in her mother. This whole 'bring Francisco's grandmother out here' scheme would not concern me at all except I think we will be required to see her a Lot, and I don't like her. Francisco doesn't even like her, and she's His grandmother. Catie, is this a No-Complaining day? Because if so I've totally blown it and will have to try again next week. Actually I think I'll start right now and carry it over to tomorrow, to try and make up for just now. I really do want to work at self-improvement; all evidence to the contrary.

Okay, kids, that's about all for now. I think I'll listen to our new cd, for about the grillionth time today.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify