all about the mens

2001-07-03

Remember how I've told you the Boy is an excellent mimic? Well he's really killing us with his latest. This weekend we saw part of a documentary on the Arizona prison system, and they showed a woman on a chain gang who was being punished by having to carry a backpack full of rocks. The reason she was being punished? "I wasn't paying attention to the matron; I was looking over at the mens." Mens. Francisco and I loved that, and I said it once or twice and then kind of forgot about it. Yesterday, though, out of the blue, Boy said something about the "mens", and he said it in the perfect voice--kind of prissy. Naturally we howled, so he's off and running with it. We cautioned him not to say it around his grandparents, because they wouldn't understand and would be concerned. He agreed, and since he's leaving on Sunday morning to visit them for a month (in Oregon), he's having to get the mens out of his system before then. That child is a hoot, for real.

His birthday is next week and we need to shop for gifts so we can give them to him before he leaves for OR. I figure we'll buy him a number of good books, and a couple garments (he's entering that stage where he really likes to look "cool"), but I'm at a loss as to other potential gifts. I'll go to the Zany Brainy--they'll have something good. Any gift suggestions for a 10 year old? Don't even mention Gameboy to me; we won't buy that.

It's weird to have July 4 on a Wednesday, but kind of good. Only have to do two days before a day off, and then two more before the weekend. It's a good thing. I have no plans for tomorrow because Francisco has a class to teach (summer classes don't take a day off), so no big cookout extravaganza for us. I am hoping to convince my friend, Kim, to come over for lunch, but if not then I'll just do whatever I feel like. What plans do you have?

Did you know wild bears will strip the bark off willows to use as a painkiller? I was reading a bear article in the July National Geographic, and bears actually do that; one man who shot a bear (some kind of hunter--ssssss!) found willow bark packed around an abcessed tooth the bear had. Willow bark, as you may or may not know, contains a natural version of the painkiller in aspirin. I think bears are being underestimated, and it worries me.

Feeling uninspired today, my little blueberry muffins, so talk to you later, or tomorrow.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify