Watered: Dead or Alive?

2001-06-29

What is the plural of Baby Ruth? Is it Baby Ruths or Babies Ruth?

Francisco and I went to the south mall at lunch (I know, I'm on such a roll with the malls lately) and I bought the best pair of sunglasses, for only $5! They were on sale; don't worry, they have UV protection. They're black cat-eyes with rhinestones on the tips, and the tips are kind of wingy. So Cute! I really can't describe them adequately; I just wish I had a digital camera so you could see for yourselves. They make me think of catiecake; I think she would approve.

Does anyone know how to tell if a cactus is alive? I have, in my office, a pot containing 2 small cactuses, and I have no idea if they're still alive. I water them sporadically, and they are green, but I don't think that's a good indicator of life in cactuses. I had a cactus once that detached from its roots and sat on top of the soil for months and was still green. I guess if they stay green in death it doesn't much matter if they die, but I'd still like to know their status. I have an innate curiosity about things; it's all part of my charm.

So what are you doing for your weekend? We were going to go camping but then chickened out due to 1) all the stuff we'd have to buy and do in order to go camping, and 2) the mosquitoes. Instead we're going to go to the Eno River Festival on Saturday (in Durham), and maybe to a place on Sunday that has a climbing wall. We've never all done that climbing thing before and I think it would be fun. And Dim Sum on Sunday afternoon, of course. The Dim Sum is becoming our little family tradition, and I like it. Other than that I can work on the load of stuff that needs doing at home--nothing major except for that bally wallpaper stripping project; that'll probably have to wait until next month. I kind of want to see that A.I., but that might have to wait until next weekend. So much waiting--so little time.

Smithsonian Magazine is really really good. A coworker was recycling a whole pile of ones she had and I snagged them, and let me tell you, I have learned so much from them. I am SO going to subscribe to that magazine.

Boy will be going to the doctor in a few minutes, because I think he has a sinus infection. He is prone to those; when he gets colds they sometimes turn into a sinus thing. Since he is leaving a week from Sunday to visit his grandparents for a month, I want to get this sinus thing cleared up ASAP. Poor kid.

Speaking of kids, the receptionist's baby and two year old were in the office a few minutes ago, and watching them reminded me of my cats. Not the Boy, mind you, but my cats. I think it's because I've had my cats since they were teeny little babies, and though I obviously have known the Boy since babyhood, he wasn't mine and I didn't get to show him off to anyone in his little baby state. But I showed off my cats as kittens plenty of times; I took great pride in their bravery and cuteness and manic playing. They provided hours of entertainment with the running and rolling and pouncing. They are chubby slugs now who rarely play anymore but they still give us great joy. And I still like to show them off.

Well, it had to happen. This morning Clipboard Man spoke, and it totally Ruined my image of him. He looks like a computer science-type guy, and I imagined he'd moved here from the Northeast or from California or somewhere to work in Research Triangle Park. When he spoke (to someone else, btw) it was clear just how far off I was in my conjectures: he had a southern accent you could cut okra with. Country southern--there's a difference. He may still be a computer geek, but he sure isn't from California or Boston. Ruined, I tell you.

I'm the boss in the office right now (everyone who outranks me is gone), so I guess I'll go downstairs and put the fear of god into people. Which would be pretty funny if you knew me; I don't exactly strike fear into the hearts of men. So to speak.

Take care, my little wafer cookies. Have a great weekend!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify